Options for IT women when aged

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by sanjuruby3, Mar 10, 2015.

1. sanjuruby3

sanjuruby3 Platinum IL'ite

Hi All,

I am a developer in IT and work in very fast paced environment. I do like technology and liked learning.
    Now a days with infant, things are getting difficult for me. I want to do learn new technologies but no time. I want to learn other things - hobbies outside work but
    can not afford. My child consumes all the time and I do not even get time to sleep.
    Forget about health. Result of that, me and my H we both are suffering in terms of health.

I maximum can work few more years like this. My child is still very small.. What is going to happen after say 10 yrs. Though I do not have een 10 yrs.
    Men are different. They get into tech leads kind of jobs which I have no interest in.

can I move to testing after development? Normally I see white people (american people) move from testing to development.

2. viki123

viki123 Silver IL'ite

Sanjuruby,
    I can understand what you are going through as we are on the same boat. I think this phase of occupied with ur baby is till they turn 2 and start going to daycare or school.

If you still want to look to IT jobs which not in Financial based. I think most most of the past pace work happens in financial side and consulting works.

I worked as at consulting firm for 4 years and has really bad days (i mean schedule wise). I can't imagine working there with an infant to take care back at home.
    Now i am working at an educational institute (IT Side) with laid back work attitude. There i no work pressure or stress but down side no bonus in increments as we get in corporate companies

3. LuvLadoo35

LuvLadoo35 Gold IL'ite

hi Sanjuruby,