A few questions

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by CrayoNess, Jan 28, 2015.

1. CrayoNess

CrayoNess Platinum IL'ite

The background is that I am a manager of team in India. I have run into some challenges and now trying to figure out are these caused by the individuals in the team, indian working culture or something else.

We have a process of giving each a merit salary increase every year. There is a specified element related to the inflation that is same for every one and then on top of that an individual share. The individual share is based on your past performance and also how your salary is compared with the rest of the team/job market in general.

I was totally wtf when my team members started to tell me that their colleague got x percent and they got only y percent. In my working culture it is completely unheard that you would discuss your salary or salary increase with your colleagues. I of course refused to discuss the topic.

There is some kind of local policy to reward high achievers every year. I nominated one of my team members to that and she got the award (something symbolic like a coffee mug or similar). At once all the rest of my team was pestering me with questions that why she did get it. I felt like I am managing a group of toddlers.

I am kind of used to the culture where you accept your managers decisions, if you have something substantial to say (something related to the content of the work or similar you can of course speak up). But totally confused with this whining and crying if your colleague get more salary or some silly award with something.

So my questions is. Is it common that you compare your salary and other stuff with your colleagues? And that you start to whine to your boss if you do not get the award/salary increase/whatsoever?

1 person likes this.

2. girlieyonee

girlieyonee Senior IL'ite