Career women..please help me..

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by anika987, Jul 9, 2014.

1. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

Hi all,

I am new to Indusladies and currently I am a SAHM for twin kids.I have been at home for the past two years and maybe will be at home for another year.I was working as an admin before kids.I have studied ba economics( basic graduation) and after coming to the usa,I joined community college and studied accountancy a 3 month course,quickbooks and MS office.I want to start working in a year or so.Hence, I am willing to update my skills more.I am not looking for a hi-fi job but a decent one.what kind of jobs can I look for? what can I study more?Kindly give me ideas.

Thank you

1 person likes this.

2. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

3. HasteRaho

HasteRaho Platinum IL'ite

Hey Kalpana :) Welcome to IL!

It's fantastic that you're taking the initiative to explore work opportunities and ways to update your skills! It often seems like a daunting task but with the right frame of mind and determination, nothing will stop you from achieving it.

While gaps in employment history may be tougher to get an office job at a bigger company (at least in the short-term), it's not impossible, even for P/T (you can also work with a staffing agency). But if you're open to other opportunities, here's some to consider in the US:

- You can start off by getting a Notary Public certification (often available at local community colleges). This will help you make easy cash in your own time with no hassle at all. You can either go visit people in their offices/public places or have people come to you at home. You can charge $5 to $10 USD for each page you sign and stamp. Easy money. My mom does this and it's a great side job. I plan on getting this, too.