What to wear to work in USA?

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by Sags, Jul 4, 2014.

1. Sags

Sags Silver IL'ite

Hi all,

i am new to USA and i about to start working with in a month so i want to be ready with dresses and stuff. In india i use to wear kurta and legging but here i see all wearing formal pants. Wear can i buy formal wear and what else i can wear apart from a shirt n a trouser.

2. cutemonster

cutemonster Platinum IL'ite

you can invest in some good skirts, dont go for very short or very long skirts and pencil pants .for formal wear you can opt for good button down shirts, some fancy , but not too much frilly blouses and tops. if the place you are going to work is in colder climate some good blazer and also coats will look nice.

2 people like this.
  3. HasteRaho

HasteRaho Platinum IL'ite

Depending on where you're living, working along with your line of work, it varies.

I'd recommend A-line dresses (sheath, shirt-dresses or with quarter sleeves) or skirts for the spring/summer/early fall that are knee length or more pair with a nice belt, scarf and shoes. A-lines tend to be universally flattering, versatile, more comfortable and still carries a nice shape (I have to travel, get in front of people and clients a lot so this works out well for me). I wear these kinds of dresses 80% of the time and when it's colder outside, I gradually add on hosiery and layers. Sheer for warmer seasons, opaque/thick tights with woven cardigans for the cooler seasons.

Pencil skirts can be nice especially for more formal days, but get the right fit to avoid clingy-ness or having it ride up. If you do happen to wear these, a good investment to consider are slips that come in the form of high-waisted shorts or skirts to avoid having the skirt ride up or accidents in windy weather :)