I would want to be a farmer

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by krishnapreethi, Jul 3, 2014.

1. krishnapreethi

krishnapreethi Senior IL'ite

Hi all,

I have been working in the IT industry for the past 8 years and find it completely takes up my time with 10 hours of work & additional 2 hours of travel & hardly any weekends.

Over the years I have been finding it stifling, lacking job satisfaction and not something that I would want to continue any more. But since I have financial responsibilities I cannot quit either.

However my heart lies in the farming area. But since there is no one to guide me as to how to proceed, I am not sure of how to make this transition without stopping the income flow.

I also do not have any land of my own to start with this concept. Please let me know if any one from the IL family can provide their valuable inputs for me to realize my dream... :)

2. han412

han412 Gold IL'ite

If you dont own land you could do farming on someone elses land on contract basis. Nowadays there is plenty of money in farming too provided you have adequate knowledge. There are various government schemes and NGOs to help out.
    In the initial years cash flow will surely decrease but like with everything farming too needs time.
    You have not posted about your family . Are your wife and kids ok with the move?
    You will find this blog helpful. This person was working in IT and has shifted to an alternate lifestyle and farming.

1 person likes this.
  3. rachaputi

rachaputi Platinum IL'ite

Without any experience, dont enter into the path directly. If you have interest, first just start planting, some basic plants in your home. Through that you will get basic knowledge what to plant, how to plant, seasonal crops, what are the problems you will face, what type of the land you need for specific veggies, which type of plants will grow in shade and under sun.

It will help you to learn farming and satisfies your passion too..

1 person likes this.