I need to stop wasting time at work

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by Kera, Feb 14, 2014.

1. Kera

Kera Gold IL'ite

I have been working for 6 years and I still have the same habit I had as college student. Meaning I have no sense of time. I slack off of work when I feel like it but then I take tons of work home. Sometimes I just slack off. There is very few days when I worked full 8 hrs but there has been plenty of days when I stayed in work for 10-11hrs because earlier during the day I spend hours wasting time.

This is because I didn’t have value for time & I never had to pay for it. Because when deadline came, I was able to stay up late at night finishing the work. This has become a habit of mine & luckily in 6 years I have not gotten in trouble for it. But now life is evolving, I am getting married, I have more family responsibility & I am tired of myself but I can’t stop it.

My biggest time waster was facebook & reading message board. I have stopped those and lost interest in reading other peoples comment.

But there are days (often, few times a week) when I just want to slack off. So I watch youtube, surf ebay, read random topic not work related. Next thing I know, 3 hrs just passed sometimes even more. How do I stop this stupid habit of mine & do what I am supposed to do here. I know we need time off and relax time but I overdo it. Now my managements are asking questions what do I do? Why r my projects late? The difference between now and before is, I have gotten few promotions & my projects do not have hard deadline like my old projects did. So I don’t do the all-nighter to meet a deadline it just hangs in there until I get in trouble.

ARRRRRGGGG soo mad at myself. How did you manage to stop wasting time? I wonder if I wasted more time at home maybe i won't feel the need to slack off at work as much?

1 person likes this.

2. sheztheone

sheztheone Platinum IL'ite