Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > India > Uttar Pradesh | Madhya Pradesh | Rajasthan

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
I need help...
Last post by vidhkarthik
Today 06:24 PM
34 Replies, 1,172 Views
Secret by Rhonda Byrne
Last post by radsahana
Today 06:16 PM
0 Replies, 1 Views
Baba blessed me with the...
by nsairam
Last post by radsahana
Today 06:11 PM
8 Replies, 126 Views
Today,we got Immigrant...
by mbhatt
Last post by mbhatt
Today 06:05 PM
0 Replies, 1 Views
Daily Prayer On Sai Baba.
by Priesh
Last post by mvasanthi
Today 06:02 PM
4,473 Replies, 21,716 Views
Very embarassed
Last post by rosenav
Today 05:53 PM
13 Replies, 178 Views
Severe itching on both...
Last post by AnithaPartha
Today 05:51 PM
7 Replies, 106 Views
Son what are your future...
Last post by natpudan
Today 05:50 PM
14 Replies, 220 Views
thirumala photos
Last post by tashidelek2002
Today 05:39 PM
1 Replies, 18 Views
Need help/suggestions...
by Lakhs9
Last post by Lakhs9
Today 05:39 PM
6 Replies, 69 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 25.00%
2 Votes
walking - 12.50%
1 Vote
Bedrest - 62.50%
5 Votes
Total Votes: 8
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 28th March 2009, 08:07 AM

City: Jaipur
State: Rajasthan
meerapodwal Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Rajasthan Lac jewellery

Lac jewellery set with glass chatons is a popular item in Rajasthan and Jaipur, Jodhpur and Udaipur are very famous all over for Lacquered work.

Jaipur city is the big centre for Lac bangles, toys and different articles. Lac jewellery and bangles are made in many shades and are plain or studded with glass pieces, semi precious and precious stones are also ornamented. Bangles are considered very auspicious in the Hindu religion and Lac bangles are worn on all auspicious occasions in Rajasthan.

Have you got any lac jewellery from Rajasthan?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lac jewellery.JPG (155.0 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by meerapodwal; 28th March 2009 at 08:08 AM.
Old 28th March 2009, 12:32 PM

City: M
State: N
amallela Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Re: Rajasthan Lac jewellery

I love Rajastan jewellery the most. I have almost 14 sets of this kind.
Old 28th March 2009, 01:24 PM

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
vidhu63 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Hi Meera,

That set is superb. Red and green combination wow. How much is that set?
Old 29th March 2009, 12:39 AM

City: abudhabi
State: abudhabi
roopanair123 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

very elegant and traditional !!
Old 29th March 2009, 01:36 AM

City: abudhabi
State: abudhabi
aharia Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

nice desing.

Aharia
Old 29th March 2009, 04:47 AM

City: Dubai
State: Dubai
thejasree Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Hi Meera,

The set is very pretty.

I too love lac jewellery, my cousin had bought 3 sets of bangles when he had been to his friend's place in Jaipur. (that was around 10 yrs back).

Now, i want to buy earrings, and here in Dubai it is very expensive, compared to what we get in India. May be on my next vacation, i will.

Thejasree
Old 29th March 2009, 05:33 AM

City: Gurgaon
State: NCR/Haryana
ishanisharma Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Thumbs up Re: Rajasthan Lac jewellery

You are absolutely right.
Lac bangles have a touch of class and richness. They are extremely popular amongst women and with intricate detailing of master craftsmanship, Lac bangles are the most sought after items amongst the fasionable.

Do you know Designer Lacquer Bangles are also available.

Designer lacquer bangles come in various colors like red, green, black, blue, pink color lac bangles which can coordinate with your dress. Lacquer jewelry and lac jewelry bangles are available in an exclusive range of vibrantly colored and ethnic designs.
To decorate lac bangles in bright and admirable designs, craftsman imparts intricate designs on it. Rhinestone crystal, vibrant colors, semi precious stones, pearls, mirror and glass work are used to embellish these bangles.
Old 29th March 2009, 09:11 AM

City: Delhi
State: Delhi
SoniaVerma Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Lightbulb Re: Rajasthan Lac jewellery

Lacquer jewellery is my all time favorite. Its so elegant and I've quite a few sets to match up to my dresses and they indeed look gorgeous and more vibrant than gold and silver. But do you know where this lac or lacquer comes from?
Lacquer Jewelry is made from the Lac that is the scarlet resinous secretion from a number of Lac-producing insects. The lac-producing insects are known as Laccifer lacca, Carteria lacca and Tachardia lacca. These insects are commonly cultivated to make Lacquer jewelry.

Lac producing insects are plant sucking insects. These tiny insects colonize branches on host trees and secrete the scarlet resinous pigment. The coated branches are then cut and harvested as sticklac. The harvested sticklac is crushed, sieved to remove impurities and washed again and again to remove insect parts. The end product called sheelac contains impurity which is removed by the heat treatment.

To make lacquer jewelry, Lac producing insects are cultivated. The Lac production is most common in Assam, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and parts of China
Old 30th March 2009, 02:00 PM

City: Noida
State: Uttar Pradesh
SabinaKhanna Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Smile Re: Rajasthan Lac jewellery

Thanks for that insightful information Sonia. I wear a lot of lacquer jewellery - necklaces, earrings, bangles etc, but never thought where lac comes from. Mirror work lac jewellery is my personal favorite; everytime I go to visit Jaipur, I make it a point to buy some new ones, especially bangles.
Old 30th March 2009, 02:35 PM

City: Jaipur
State: Rajasthan
meerapodwal Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Lightbulb Re: Rajasthan Lac jewellery

Very nice piece of lac bangles posted by Ishani. Lac Bangles are perfect for every occasion. They are available in variety of colors and combination from brown glitter-lac bangles, designer mirror work bangles, golden-yellow lac bangles, black bangle set, green bangle set, golden-brown mirror work lac-bangle etc.Lacquer jewelry with kundan work, pearls, mirror work and master craftsmanship are very popular in lacquer jewelry.

So also are Lacquer Jewelry boxes which are the treasure trove to keep beautiful lacquer jewelry. The intricate detailing, works of art, mirror decorations displaying high artistic quality makes the lacquer jewelry box stunning.