You may not vote on this poll.

Old 7th November 2009, 05:10 AM

City: Dubai
State: Dubai
prettyguns Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Advice required on good hotels in Palani Hills

Hi ILs,
We would be visiting Palani Hills on 22nd November, since this is the first time we are going there, need advice to choose a good hotel since we would be staying overnight. Can anybody advise me on a good hotel in Palani Hills where the rooms and bathrooms are kept neat and tidy, my friend told me that the hotels in Palani are not that greatly maintained. If so, is there any place near Palani where we can get a good hotel.
Awaiting advice,
Preethi
Old 9th November 2009, 12:43 AM

City: Madras
State: TN
Cindhuja Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Re: Advice required on good hotels in Palani Hills

Preethi ..please elaborate about the origin ..Likewise the mode of commute and also state how many of you are included in this trip..Will give you details accordingly..Likewise are you people busy and early birds who wake-up and start early so that you make a peaceful trip or kind of relaxed and lethargic..coz based on that the stay place can be decided...Would you like to combine Kodaikanal too??
Old 9th November 2009, 01:11 AM

City: Doha
State: Doha
natpudan Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

this hotel looks good: WELCOME TO HOTEL GANPAT - HOME

like cindujha said it all depends on your itinerary.

you can stay in madurai, coimbatore, trichy, kodaikanal, dindigul and still access palani in 2 to 3 hours time.

Seldom Sanity Prevails!
Old 9th November 2009, 03:03 AM

Originally Posted by Cindhuja View Post
Preethi ..please elaborate about the origin ..Likewise the mode of commute and also state how many of you are included in this trip..Will give you details accordingly..Likewise are you people busy and early birds who wake-up and start early so that you make a peaceful trip or kind of relaxed and lethargic..coz based on that the stay place can be decided...Would you like to combine Kodaikanal too??
Hi Cindhuja

We are leaving by car from Chennai early early morning (I am not an early person but have to do this cry!cry!cry!) - 4 people - and should reach the base by afternoon, we have a pooja to do at the base temple and then plan to go up the hill to the main temple for the evening puja. After that we need accomodation for the night. We are there only for 1 night but since this is the first time, I am not sure how the hotel accomodation is and where I can stay. Are there good hotels in Palani or should we drive to a nearby town. It is only for 1 night stay - next day after breakfast,we leave for Coimbatore from there.

Can't combine Kodai this time since we have to be in CBE the next day. But isn't it a lovely place.....I think next time I should combine Palani with Kodai. I stayed at a lovely place called Villa Retreat on Coaker's Walk and it was beautiful with great views from the room. Howz it going on with your new year plan?

Preethi
Old 9th November 2009, 03:05 AM

Originally Posted by natpudan View Post
this hotel looks good: WELCOME TO HOTEL GANPAT - HOME

like cindujha said it all depends on your itinerary.

you can stay in madurai, coimbatore, trichy, kodaikanal, dindigul and still access palani in 2 to 3 hours time.
Hi Natpudan,

Thanks for the info.
We are doing an evening darshan at the temple, so have to spend overnight either in Palani or somewhere nearby. Please suggest which would be the nearest place with good hotels.

Preethi
Old 9th November 2009, 03:12 AM

State: tamilnadu
anudhivi Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

hi preethi,
i dont know abt hotels in palani as my hometown is nearer to palani.
i recently visited there last month.
i wish to have darshan only at the night. evening 7.30 we have golden chariot roaming around the temple and after that raja alangaram will be on lord muruga. its really a virtual feast for ur eyes.
any other queries reg temple visit, pls kindly ask.. will there to help you.
Old 9th November 2009, 03:25 AM

Preethi,

The general route followed from Chennai to Pazhani is :-

Chennai
maduranthagam
Villupuram
Ulunderpet
Perambalur
Trichy
Dindigul
Pazhani

Chennai to Trichy nearly 330 - With this new highways it takes just 6 hrs including inbetween breaks(not sure if this rain has spoil t the route..Less chances don't panic)

From trichy Dindigul is nearly 110 kms..So it takes another 2hrs(including breaks)

Dindigul - Pazhani is around 60 kms - This is an hour travel or few minutes extra

Say all-together 9-9.5 hrs travel...It would be ok only if you start early in the morning

In pazhani there are many decent hotels..One such is GANPAT as one of our ILite said..But i would advise you to drive to CBE that day itself and stay in the city...Coz it is less than 120 kms which require hardly 1.5 hrs of driving...

You have comfortable and decent hotels in CBE..So why to waste time and money somewhere else..Another plus is you can avoid getting up early and running the second day too..

Discuss and tell me how it works??

I am here to help you
Old 10th November 2009, 06:02 AM

Originally Posted by anudhivi View Post
hi preethi,
i dont know abt hotels in palani as my hometown is nearer to palani.
i recently visited there last month.
i wish to have darshan only at the night. evening 7.30 we have golden chariot roaming around the temple and after that raja alangaram will be on lord muruga. its really a virtual feast for ur eyes.
any other queries reg temple visit, pls kindly ask.. will there to help you.
Hi Dhivya
Thanks for the info. Now I understand why my mom told me to go for the evening / night darshan....the golden chariot and raja alangaram sounds really very nice.......I will ensure I am there at 7.30.........until what time in the night is the temple open?
Preethi
Old 10th November 2009, 06:13 AM

Hi Cindhuja,

Thank you so so much for the great info .......now I have more clarity to plan the trip. Like you said, I think I will drive onto CBE itself even if I were to reach a little late in the night, why take the tension of looking for a good hotel in Palani and as you say, I save more time this way.......if I estimate the total travel from Chennai - Palani as 9-10 hours and we leave at 6am, I can reach Palani by 3-4pm and refresh just in time for the evening darshan. Since 3 of us are taking turns driving, it should not be a lag on health. Then we can do the puja at the base, then go to the main Palani temple and then do the evening darshan and return to coimbatore by night 11-12. Great!!!!!!!!!

Just a few questions, sorry for the bother -

1. How is the road from Palani to CBE - driving in the night is okay?
2. Is this season time in Palani meaning would there be lots of crowd now?

I have travelled often in the South but this is the first time we are driving. Normally we take trains / buses / taxis. Driving by ourselves sounds exciting but at the same time unnerving since we have not driven often out there!!!!!! Fingers crossed

Thanks once more Cindhuja for the guidance, now our plan is finalised thanks to your tips

Preethi
Old 10th November 2009, 06:34 AM

Preethi for freezing your trip

Guess the route you will have to follow is :-

Palani
udumalpet
Pollachi

It is NH 209 i suppose ..Google it...

As far as i have heard the roads are good but sure lined up with traffic during peak hours ..don't panic ...not a stagnant traffic...still a busy highway

See to that you settle down in CBE on-or-before 11 - 11.30 pm

Roughly 115 kms drive i.e.,
Palani - Udumalpet - 40+
Udumalpet - Pollachi - 30 +
Pollachi - CBE - 40+

If @ all you drive during day-time..Sure a pleasure..Coz the route is very cool and green

those days this route wasn't very busy..That too pollachi..Oh man..Wonderful locality..But these days after cine field targeting pollachi..the crowd and traffic is

Last edited by Cindhuja; 10th November 2009 at 06:35 AM.