Travelling to Shantiniketan

Discussion in 'Travel' started by piyagupta, Jul 20, 2009.

1. piyagupta

piyagupta Senior IL'ite

I have been thinking of sharing my experiences of the trips to Shantiniketan, with all of you. When I visited Shantiniketan for the very first time, I studied in Class Five. Though I remember bits and pieces of that trip quite vividly, I think I should write about my first trip to Shantiniketan as an adult.

The year was 2000. The month was July. A group of five friends made a plan to visit Shantiniketan. I was one of those five. Some of us were into our first jobs after the completion of our graduations. Some were doing post-graduations.

We had started to enjoy the first taste of freedom and planned to leave Kolkata on a Friday and return on the Sunday.

2. shefalisingh

shefalisingh Senior IL'ite

I am reminded of my own visit to Shantiniketan. We travelled by train from Kolkata. Shantiniketan is famous for its Holi celebrations. It was a great experience.
    I have read your posts on Indusladies.You write very well.:idea

3. shaliniku

shaliniku Senior IL'ite

We were waiting for our graduation results. A close friend of mine suggested to visit Shantiniketan along with her parents to celebrate Bengali New Year. I grabbed the opportunity and persuaded my parents to let me go.

We took Shantiniketan Express from Howrah and reached Bolpur at around 1 p.m. The dry, hot air scorched our faces but we enjoyed the rickshaw ride to our guest house as we viewed the red earthed rough terrain. We stayed in a beautiful white and blue house in Purba Palli named Aparajita.