1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Daycare or montessori for 3 yr old...

Discussion in 'Toddlers' started by breeze01, Mar 24, 2015.

1. breeze01

breeze01 Platinum IL'ite

I am confused whether to send my 3 yr old to day care or montessori as we will be moving out in a month we have to plan to send him to either one as there wont be anyone to take care of him for couple of hours.. my parents do live near by but we dont want him to go there everyday.he is very much pampered and not behaving right so we thinking sending him to school might help him... and one more bad thing is we are not done with potty training...
    he doesnt boo boo as long as we put him pull up..doesnt matter its a day or two days but i dont want to see him struggling so we just put him pull up...
    as i am new to all this school i dont have any clue and we get off online on weekend i cant decide where to send him and how it works.. will it be okay if he is not even potty trained..what are the things they do at the school... which one would be better for his age...

2. Rakhii

Rakhii Moderator IL Hall of Fame

Breeze, whether to choose a daycare or a Montessori completely depends on what you believe in and what you feel comfortable with. When my DD was 14 months old, I joined her in a home-based daycare. I wanted her to be in a home environment at that age where there was a right mix of regulated play and motherly cuddles. She still continues to go there and in sept she will be joining school.

Since he is 3 already, maybe its better to consider Montessori setup where the day is more structured and school like. He will be starting JKG soon anyway.

As for potty training, here the public schools expect the kids to be potty trained before they start JKG. not sure in US

1 person likes this.
  3. breeze01

breeze01 Platinum IL'ite