Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > India > Tamil Nadu

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post Are you ready to take up...
by shel_28
Last post by shel_28
Today 12:46 AM
92 Replies, 928 Views
stammering
Last post by Shanvy
Today 12:45 AM
8 Replies, 53 Views
Word Building - Second...
by JustAni
Last post by sudha kailas
Today 12:44 AM
6,570 Replies, 50,627 Views
Need information about...
Last post by kavyamadhav
Today 12:43 AM
0 Replies, 1 Views
biggest disappointment..
by asina
Last post by vidhkarthik
Today 12:43 AM
16 Replies, 690 Views
my new work
Last post by Deaf woman
Today 12:39 AM
46 Replies, 833 Views
Psychic Reading
Last post by vijayals
Today 12:39 AM
0 Replies, 1 Views
LIFECELL - Cord Blood/...
Last post by hydgrr
Today 12:36 AM
17 Replies, 458 Views
A student in Boston...
by sapn
Last post by Chitvish
Today 12:33 AM
6 Replies, 64 Views
Foods to avoid during...
Last post by hydgrr
Today 12:32 AM
11 Replies, 8,364 Views
Current Poll
which is the best method after IVF transfer
Acupuncture - 0%
0 Votes
yoga - 25.00%
2 Votes
walking - 12.50%
1 Vote
Bedrest - 62.50%
5 Votes
Total Votes: 8
You may not vote on this poll.
Closed Thread Post New Thread

Old 23rd July 2009, 12:44 PM

State: Tamilnadu
Marun Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Smile Tamil Friends II

Hi all mods,

I just wanted to know who made the suggestion of closing the thread Tamil friends....

Hope you pals know the rate at which the thread had grown!!! closing that thread is a mere bad decision IMHO!!!

Most of the members might loose interest... .Just re consider the decision made.

I would suggest you pals to have a voting before you close this thread...

If you mods and admins are very much worried about the size of each thread, i would suggest you all to worry about the entire structure of the forum Its huge and as a newbie couple of months back, i found very hard to remember sections!!!

Kindly re open the thread and let these two thread be in peace instead of having one... it would be difficult to follow...

P.S: Our thread is only 80 counts behind the other thread!!! Where comes the seniority here???

Marun

Last edited by Marun; 23rd July 2009 at 12:50 PM.
Old 23rd July 2009, 01:24 PM

State: tamilnadu
sadhu72 Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)
Default Re: Tamil Friends II

hi marun ,

i also join my hands with you in objecting our tamil friends thread winding up ....decision .

& that too without any prior intimation .
it would be good if they could have asked our opinion before merging such a huge & active thread.

iam very sad & request our induslady kindly to reopen the thread ASAP .

sadhana

Old 23rd July 2009, 01:29 PM

dear all mods ,

i kindly request you to give back our thread soon either or please allow our new second volume ' tamil friends 11 ' thread started by our dear fellow member MR. ARUN .[ marun ]. thank you!

sadhana

Old 24th July 2009, 12:17 AM

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
Successpriya Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

Dear Induslady,

These days without any prior information you people are closing the thread , grouping the threads. I really feel very bad. Why dont you show some consideration to us and atleast ask our suggestions before showing it in action.
If moderators are the deciding authority , better change the whole community and we all will submit our thread to moderators and they can start a thread and do all posting under one.

They are renaming our threads without prior information. Grouping thread without prior information. . We find it hard to relocate the thread and the information.
Please consider our request and leave this thread as such.
WE ARE ACTIVELY PARTICIPATING IN TAMIL FRIENDS THREAD.

We all have seen Eppdi irukeenga thread .
They have their own group similarly we have our own group.

Priya

Last edited by Successpriya; 24th July 2009 at 12:17 AM.
Old 24th July 2009, 12:31 AM

hi success priya ,

thanks for paricipating & expressing your strong views regarding this.

yes , you are right. COFFEE MORNINGS & HOW ARE YOU threads also seem to be similar one & why cant they merge it also ? coz , they are huge in volume know?

i think if the volume is more they can offer us 2 or more similar threads ......division & splitting are easy tools & nothing wrong in that. , & we cannot join in such a huge group all of a sudden .

so mods , plz do the needful at the earliest !

sadhana

Old 24th July 2009, 09:32 AM

City: abudhabi
State: abudhabi
aharia Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

hi moderators,

I would say "Excellent" for merging the thread into one, if this decision has been made because of the recession. It's time to shrink... whenever & wherever possible. If this has nothing to do with recession,financial crisis,job cuts, or redundancy......just leave the thread as it is... Will you?

Aharia
Old 24th July 2009, 12:11 PM

Angry Re: Tamil Friends II

Well showed your opinion aha,

Mods, I am purposefully reporting this post for your answer!!!!
Old 25th July 2009, 01:43 AM

City: Doha
State: Qatar
Priyaalagu Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Yes i also feel this s not the right way. ......Please put it back, this has been more than a thread for us. Hope no one will like to reshuufle a family
Old 31st July 2009, 10:49 AM
Private Message User
Administrator

City: Austin
State: Texas
Referrals: 27
Induslady has disabled reputation

Dear All,

First of all, thanks for taking the time to show your objection is closing the "Tamil Friends" thread. This shows your interest levels of the networking you do within this community.

Having said that, I hope you all saw this closing post I made here - Tamil friends

The following has been very clearly highlighted as the reason for closing:
When we started local forums, our main idea was to use those forums to host discussions specific to that local place. Like where to find what, what's special in that place, cultural discussions and more specific discussions about the place.

However, it's nice to see members belonging to the place also socialize/network within the local forum via such discussions. But having multiple threads of same nature is not going to have much advantages.

Marun, thanks for all your great suggestions with regard to operating the site without closing threads (I know you also PM-ed the same to me). We don't hastily close a thread based on just one person suggesting. We discuss amongst the moderators team and try hard to make appropriate decisions.

BTW, we don't go by post counts to decide on the seniority of the thread. Merging a thread with a "later start date" into a thread with an "earlier start date" has always been followed as a rule while merging.

Sadhana & Priya, hope you will agree with me with the humongous amounts of threads and posts that get posted everday, there is equally huge load of moderation to keep the site well organized. It is not humanly possible for moderators to keep informing about every move/merge they do. Believe me, it is going to increase their work load more than double.

Dear All,

I strongly believe there should not be any major "grouping" within threads belonging to same local forum (in fact across any forums). At the end of the day, all are friends here (I read many of you say "extended family"!) and there should be no hesitations in participating in any thread.

In fact, by merging a thread like "Tamil Friends" with another thread like "Eppadi Irukeenga" - isn't there a possibility that you get to know more people, interact with more people and make new friends? Isn't that all about social networking?

Thanks for all your understanding and appreciate your co-operation in this regard. Let's conclude the objection and start interacting in many interesting threads out here to make lots of new friends :)

PS: Threads of similar nature(especially chit-chat types) are not closed and merged ONLY within Tamil Nadu forums. This is being done in other local forums too as part of a organizing exercise.

This thread will be CLOSED sooner!
Need a personal blogspace?
Old 31st July 2009, 10:49 PM

Smile Re: Tamil Friends II

HI IL,

Thanks for the information. I completely agree with you.

I have a small suggestion to put forth!!!

Why not enabling the option of Auto PMs??

In that case mods do not have to tell the member about their moderation.
Once they are doing some mods, an auto PM must me generated and sent to concerned members.
I guess this option is disabled in IL!!!

Originally Posted by Induslady View Post

Sadhana & Priya, hope you will agree with me with the humongous amounts of threads and posts that get posted everday, there is equally huge load of moderation to keep the site well organized. It is not humanly possible for moderators to keep informing about every move/merge they do. Believe me, it is going to increase their work load more than double.

Closed Thread Post New Thread