Go Back   IndusLadies > Kitchen and Household > Indian Recipes > Sweet & Dessert Recipes - Unusual ones!

Old 21st April 2008, 10:49 PM

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka
Default Re: Cakes, Pastries...........

HI ... This is a new recipe that i ended up creating yesterday- hope you enjoy it...

Apple cake with a zest.

Apples (Grated with skin)- 2 (Medium)
Self Raising Flour - 2 cups
Baking Soda - 1/2 tsp
salt - 1/2 tsp
Butter (Softened) - 3/4 cup
Super Fine Sugar - 3/4 cup
Milkmaid - 4 tbsp
Lemon Juice - 3 tsp
Orange & Ginger Marmalade - 5 tbsp
lemon rind grated - 1
Milk - 1/3 cup

Preheat oven to 180 degrees

Mix the grated apples, lime juice, lemon rind, orange and ginger marmalade and keep it aside.
Seive together Self raising flour, baking soda and salt. keep aside
In a plastic or glass bowl, cream butter and sugar till both look soft and smooth with no granules visible. To this add the milk maid and milk. mix well.
Fold in the flour mixture. once you do this the mixture should look thick. To this add the apple mixture and fold in. mix well.

Pour the same into a paper lined/ flour dusted tin. and bake at 180 degrees for 40 mins.

Serve hot with Ice cream or just like that.

enjoy
chitra

Old 23rd May 2008, 02:08 AM

City: sydney
State: nsw
Default dilkush/dilpasand recipe

can u pls give me the dilkush/dilpasand recipe sold in iyengar bakeries

plssssss
jyothi
Old 26th June 2008, 10:40 AM

City: hyd
State: AP
Smile cake decoration

hai friends,
i am interested in cake decoration,but i could not find the items which r used for it.at present i am in canada(ontario).can u just help me plzzzzzzzzzzzzz.................
Old 26th June 2008, 11:54 AM

City: winnipeg
State: manitoba
Default Re: cake decoration

Hi visala,

The cake decoration kits n tools will be available in safeway, superstore, n r walmart too.

u evn get books for designs. The icing sugar n other essences ll also be available there.

CC
Old 1st July 2008, 05:57 AM

City: Doha
State: n/a
Default Re: dilkush/dilpasand recipe

is this are you looking for???
Ingredients:

Grated fresh coconut - 2 cups ( I used the shredded coconut in the freezer section in Indian stores)

Sugar - 1 cup

Jaggery or brown sugar - half cup

Cardamom powder - 1 teaspoon

Puff pastry sheets - 1 packet - I used pepperidge farm brand

Method:
Thaw the puff pastry sheets and the shredded coconut if you are using frozen.
Prepare the filling:
Cobine coconut, sugar and jaggery/brown sugar and a tablespoon of water and heat in a heavy bottomed kadai.
Keep in low to medium heat.
Keep stirring. You will notice that the consistency will loosen. But, after around 15 minutes, it will start thickening.
Mix in the cardamom powder.
Take off from heat when the consistency is thick at the same time a little moist too.
(Don't wait until all the moisture is absorbed).
Keep it aside and wait until it comes to room temperature.
Making the sweet puffs:
Cut the pastry sheet into three parts. Make use of the folding. Then cut each part into two. There will be totally 6 small rectangles.
(Keep the unused portion of the pastry sheet in the fridge not in the freezer)
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Take a tablespoon of the filling and place it in one side of the rectangle so that you can close the filling.
Close the filling and seal the sides. A drop of water can be used to seal.
Use a fork to make a design.
Repeat this for all the puffs.
Poke once on the top of each puff to vent.
Line the six puffs in a non stick baking tray.
Bake for approximately 25 minutes or until the surface is golden brown.
Take it out and cool completely before you taste. The filling will be really hot.
If the puffs are not sealed proplerly, there will be a leak. Discard the leaked filling on the tray.
Enjoy the sweet and delicious puffs. sprinkle powdered sugar on the puffs before serving.
Repeat these steps for the remaining pastry sheets and the coconut filling too. Thaw the pastry sheets before proceeding.
Old 3rd July 2008, 10:11 AM

City: aabbcc
State: aabbcc
Default Re: Cakes, Pastries...........

Colorful tutti fruti's are adding in dilkush/dilpasand recipe. Thanks swagada
Old 18th July 2008, 03:36 AM

City: pune
State: maharashtra
Default Re: Butterless, eggless cake...........

dear all

could anyone of you guide me as to how to make a pastry cake - especially pineapple pastry. the ones we get in monginis and bakers basket from india.

luv sanyogita
Old 21st August 2008, 07:13 AM

City: pune
State: maharashtra
Default Re: cake decoration

Hi Charu,

Can you give me the names of some interesting books or links if available.