1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems
    Dismiss Notice

Induction cooking

Discussion in 'Spotless Kitchen' started by Aadhusmom, May 27, 2008.

1. Aadhusmom

Aadhusmom Gold IL'ite

I just received an induction cooktop as a gift (a small one, portable kind). I have never used this kind of cooktop before and I dont know anyone else who has even though I've seen it on sale in some of the big supermarkets. The manual which came with it is not very informative either. And so I thought I'll ask you ladies here if any of you use it and whether its any good for Indian food? I would really appreciate some help on this.

Vanathi.

2. pavithrasriram

pavithrasriram Bronze IL'ite

hi aadhus mom,
    well induction cookers are becoming a big time hit in chennai especially when you run out of gas or in need of an extra stove for special functions etc!!!!
    one of my cousin's uses it in b'lore and uses it for making sambar, rasam etc so i guess it is suitable for indian cooking!!!
    i have seen a few in exhibition and trade centres but have never tried one!!!!
    regards
    pavi

3. Aadhusmom

Aadhusmom Gold IL'ite

Thanks Pavi. I have yet to do any serious cooking on it - I'll try it out and see.

vanathi.

4. maddie

maddie Silver IL'ite

hi vanitha
    I have been using induction cooker for boiling water, making rasam, soups, coffee and chai. You just have to set the temperature and also use only stainless steel vessels. Rest the same as we use in electric stove.

Cheers
    maddie

5. Aadhusmom

Aadhusmom Gold IL'ite

Thanks Maddie. I have tried out lots of things on it now and it works pretty well.

Vanathi.

6. sumanr

sumanr Silver IL'ite

Hey V and all

What induction stove do you have? I am planning to buy one and want to know which is a good brand/model. Also, does it need special vessels?

TIA

7. Arunadhri

Arunadhri Bronze IL'ite