Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)

Old 16th April 2007, 06:46 PM

City: Mke
State: Wisconsin
Default What goes around, comes around....

Hi!

'As you sow, so shall you reap'..........say our scriptures. A good deed or an act of kindness always comes back multi-fold, as aptly described in the following story.
Read on..........

What Goes Around Comes Around

He almost didn't see the old lady, stranded on the
side of the road, but even in the dim light of day, he
could see she needed help.

So he pulled up in front of her Mercedes and got out.
His Pontiac was still sputtering when he approached
her.

Even with the smile on his face, she was worried. No
one had stopped to help for the last hour or so .. was
he going to hurt her? He didn't look safe; he looked
poor and hungry.

He could see that she was frightened, standing out
there in the cold. He knew how she felt. It was that chill which only fear can put in you.

He said, "I'm here to help you, ma'am. Why don't you
wait in the car where it's warm? By the way, my name
is Bryan Anderson."

Well, all she had was a flat tire, but for an old
lady, that was bad enough. Bryan crawled under the car
looking for a place to put the jack, skinning his
knuckles a time or two. Soon he was able to change the
tire. But he had to get dirty and his hands hurt.

As he was tightening up the lug nuts, she rolled down
the window and began to talk to him. She told him that
she was from St. Louis and was only just passing
through. She couldn't thank him enough for coming to
her aid.

Bryan just smiled as he closed her trunk. The lady
asked how much she owed him. Any amount would have
been all right with her. She already imagined all the
awful things that could have happened had he not
stopped. Bryan never thought twice about being paid.

This was not a job to him. This was helping someone in
need, and God knows there were plenty who had given
him a hand in the past. He had lived his whole life that way, and it never occurred to him to act any other way.

He told her that if she really wanted to pay him back,
the next time she saw someone who needed help, she
could give that person the assistance they needed, and
Bryan added, "And think of me."

He waited until she started her car and drove off. It
had been a cold and depressing day, but he felt good
as he headed for home, disappearing into the twilight.

A few miles down the road the lady saw a small cafe.
She went in to grab a bite to eat, and take the chill
off before she made the last leg of her trip home. It
was a dingy looking restaurant. Outside were two old
gas pumps. The whole scene was unfamiliar to her. The
waitress came over and brought a clean towel to wipe
her wet hair. she had a sweet smile, one that even being on her feet for the whole day couldn't erase.

The lady noticed the waitress was nearly eight months
pregnant, but she never let the strain and aches change her attitude. The old lady wondered how someone who had so little could be so giving to a stranger.
Then she remembered Bryan .

After the lady finished her meal, she paid with a
hundred dollar bill. The waitress quickly went to get
change for her hundred dollar bill, but the old lady
had slipped right out the door. She was gone by the
time the waitress came back. The waitress wondered
where the lady could be.

Then she noticed something written on the napkin.
There were tears in her eyes when she read what the
lady wrote: "You don't owe me anything. I have been
there too. Somebody once helped me out, the way I'm
helping you. If you really want to pay me back, here
is what you do: Do not let this chain of love end with you."

Under the napkin were four more $100 bills.

Well, there were tables to clear, sugar bowls to fill,
and people to serve, but the waitress made it through
another day. That night when she got home from work
and climbed into bed, she was thinking about the money
and what the lady had written. How could the lady have
known how much she and her husband needed it? With the
baby due next month, it was going to be hard..

She knew how worried her husband was, and as he lay
sleeping next to her, she gave him a soft kiss and
whispered soft and low, "Everything's gonna be all
right. I love you, Bryan Anderson."

There is an old saying "What goes around comes
around."

Old 16th April 2007, 06:56 PM

City: Phoenix
State: Arizona
Default Re: What goes around, comes around....

Wow !!!

amazing story... this is so true... good or bad whatever you get in life is all your karma... without worrying about the results or the fruit one should whole heartedly do the best he can, cos god is watching.

great post ragini
Thanks for sharing it here
~Abha
Old 16th April 2007, 09:24 PM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 26

dear ragini,
a classic piece u have shared here....regards sunkan
Old 16th April 2007, 10:12 PM

City: Milford
State: CT

Great!!!! very touching story.
Old 17th April 2007, 01:35 AM

City: Bangalore
State: Karnataka

Hai Ragini,

The post is very thought provoking. As they say in the scouts' and guides' group, you should do a single good turn however small it might be , atleast one which brings a smile to the other person's face. Then you sure feel great.

Abha.
Old 17th April 2007, 01:42 AM

State: Tamilnadu

Excellent!Reality speaks.As was rightly said in Bhagwatgita,I am saying n tamil
"kadamayai sei palanai edhirparkkathey"
"Do the duty.Don't expect the results"(English)

Be impartial.Look impartial.

Last edited by BhargaviChakravarthy; 20th April 2007 at 01:07 PM.
Old 17th April 2007, 05:39 AM

City: pudukkottai
State: tamilnadu

hello

thats great yaar...!
if only people
were all like that..
to give without expecting
anything in return...
god made mothers
because he cannot be everywhere
he also makes people
like u have written...
may his tribe multiply..!

sathya
Old 17th April 2007, 07:13 AM

State: Tamilnadu

This is not just a story.I have experienced this in life each and every time when I have helped others.

Originally Posted by raginiprakash View Post
Hi!

'As you sow, so shall you reap'..........say our scriptures. A good deed or an act of kindness always comes back multi-fold, as aptly described in the following story.
Read on..........

What Goes Around Comes Around

He almost didn't see the old lady, stranded on the
side of the road, but even in the dim light of day, he
could see she needed help.

So he pulled up in front of her Mercedes and got out.
His Pontiac was still sputtering when he approached
her.

Even with the smile on his face, she was worried. No
one had stopped to help for the last hour or so .. was
he going to hurt her? He didn't look safe; he looked
poor and hungry.

He could see that she was frightened, standing out
there in the cold. He knew how she felt. It was that chill which only fear can put in you.

He said, "I'm here to help you, ma'am. Why don't you
wait in the car where it's warm? By the way, my name
is Bryan Anderson."

Well, all she had was a flat tire, but for an old
lady, that was bad enough. Bryan crawled under the car
looking for a place to put the jack, skinning his
knuckles a time or two. Soon he was able to change the
tire. But he had to get dirty and his hands hurt.

As he was tightening up the lug nuts, she rolled down
the window and began to talk to him. She told him that
she was from St. Louis and was only just passing
through. She couldn't thank him enough for coming to
her aid.

Bryan just smiled as he closed her trunk. The lady
asked how much she owed him. Any amount would have
been all right with her. She already imagined all the
awful things that could have happened had he not
stopped. Bryan never thought twice about being paid.

This was not a job to him. This was helping someone in
need, and God knows there were plenty who had given
him a hand in the past. He had lived his whole life that way, and it never occurred to him to act any other way.

He told her that if she really wanted to pay him back,
the next time she saw someone who needed help, she
could give that person the assistance they needed, and
Bryan added, "And think of me."

He waited until she started her car and drove off. It
had been a cold and depressing day, but he felt good
as he headed for home, disappearing into the twilight.

A few miles down the road the lady saw a small cafe.
She went in to grab a bite to eat, and take the chill
off before she made the last leg of her trip home. It
was a dingy looking restaurant. Outside were two old
gas pumps. The whole scene was unfamiliar to her. The
waitress came over and brought a clean towel to wipe
her wet hair. she had a sweet smile, one that even being on her feet for the whole day couldn't erase.

The lady noticed the waitress was nearly eight months
pregnant, but she never let the strain and aches change her attitude. The old lady wondered how someone who had so little could be so giving to a stranger.
Then she remembered Bryan .

After the lady finished her meal, she paid with a
hundred dollar bill. The waitress quickly went to get
change for her hundred dollar bill, but the old lady
had slipped right out the door. She was gone by the
time the waitress came back. The waitress wondered
where the lady could be.

Then she noticed something written on the napkin.
There were tears in her eyes when she read what the
lady wrote: "You don't owe me anything. I have been
there too. Somebody once helped me out, the way I'm
helping you. If you really want to pay me back, here
is what you do: Do not let this chain of love end with you."

Under the napkin were four more $100 bills.

Well, there were tables to clear, sugar bowls to fill,
and people to serve, but the waitress made it through
another day. That night when she got home from work
and climbed into bed, she was thinking about the money
and what the lady had written. How could the lady have
known how much she and her husband needed it? With the
baby due next month, it was going to be hard..

She knew how worried her husband was, and as he lay
sleeping next to her, she gave him a soft kiss and
whispered soft and low, "Everything's gonna be all
right. I love you, Bryan Anderson."

There is an old saying "What goes around comes
around."

Old 17th April 2007, 09:21 AM

City: Toronto
State: Ontario

Dear Ragini,

Another nice piece, i read this long time back somewhere, thanx for reminding me again.

I do believe "What Goes Around Comes Around"
Old 17th April 2007, 11:45 AM

City: kakinada
State: Andhra Pradesh

:) v true
after reading ur thread frm today i wont fight with my husband
u knw he always gives so much to ppl who he dosent knw also in the form of charity this and tht and i always wonder y he does tht and pick up arguement also u dont knw him y give him so much wot for and he just replies wotever gud u do wont go unnoticed up there there is one person who marks u always those words calm me in fear maybe there is someone who really takes note of all gud we do
but after reading ur thread i feel maybe there is something like this and hopefully :)) if i dont sound stingy maybe wotevere has gone out frm him wud return soon