Why look for logic in movies????

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by meera2503, Aug 2, 2008.

1. meera2503

meera2503 Senior IL'ite

Recently I was reading the review of film Thoda Pyaar Thoda Magic,In the review ,it says that Rani Mukherji is a fairy who comes to earth as a as a mortal.She performs magic and brings together the orphaned kids and the man, who is responsible for their parents death through magic. Though she performs magic throughout the movie , no one questions her ' magic performing skills'.The film should have been named 'thoda pyaar thoda magic without logic'.

Anyway,we know ,since we have grown up watching such movies.Some of them when we watch again after some years,look like comedies.It sometimes is a test on our reasoning and IQs.Those belonging to the seventies/eighties generation had no dearth of 'rich in masala' and 'poor in logic' movies.With good music ,unbelievable stunts and punch dialogues we have been taken for a ride by our heroes/ heroines/villains into another world away from reality.

Here are some movies/scenes which we Indian cine goers have digested over the time,so much so, that we usually know what the next scene has in store for us.But we don't give up watching movies, do we?.

If and only if all the first day first show film buffs,would give some justification for these scenes ,in most of the movies, it could be something like this.......

In Sholay ,Basanti talked to her Dhanno,which is fine .But in Khuddar, Amitabh talks to his taxi.Can we talk to our motorbyke,car or even to our utensils at home???????

: apna amitabh bachan hai na,woh kuch bhi kar sakta hai .

-The hero's mother,sister and all and sundry in his family tied to a chair by the villian,struggle and wriggle to break free and a little child or even a dog,who is the saviour,manages to open the knots of the rope in a jiffy ????????

:arre kutta bhi kya kaam kiya hai!! solid...

- The 'suave, sophisticated'villain,fires ten consecutive shots and not a single bullet touches the hero.And now the hero who has never ever seen a pistol, fires a single shot ,and bullseye????

: truth has to by any 'hook or crook' triumph over falsehood/good over evil etc.

-The blockbuster Amar,Akbar,Anthony had a great flaw in the title song itself which was later pointed out.The three heroes are in disguise so as to free the heroines from the villains.And yet they sing a song with their own names 'Amar,Akbar,Anthony and no one recognises them????

: The blockbuster song is for us[audience] and not for the villains in the film,you see!!!

- Superstar Rajnikant's towel,knife etc., props which defy laws of gravity and rotate in mid air???

: would we like to see the towel and other props of our superheroes miss and fall,and make our hero look clumsy ??? ,no ,never!!!

- whenever the villain falls from a height ,invariably he has to die,but the hero always has a tree branch,heroine's dupatta ,a truck full of cement bags/flowers,for his smooth landing????

:would we like the hero to die like that!!!no never!!!!

- The heroine ,will be in designer wear and in full makeup even if she is a teacher, tangewali,even when washing clothes or drawing water from a well?????

: picture ki heroine hai ,how can she be poorly dressed.

- The hero uses all modes of transport as and when required ,from bullock cart, motorcycle, car,motor boat,helicopter,and also parachute etc??????

:hero ko sab kuch aata hai

- The hero/heroine pack a housefull/cupboard full of clothes in a big suitcase.And they lift it so easily with one hand.They even dance around with the heavy luggage ??????

: they are not mere heroes , they are superheroes and weightlifters and what not!!

- The ailing father or mother of hero/heroine has to cough his/her way to death ??????

: coughing is the only way to evoke pathos in our movies

- The dying man must die,'just in time' before uttering 'clues to a mystery or before letting out a secret???????

: what happens to the ' suspense' otherwise

- Bhoots and aathmas in films have strange looking faces,which actually look comical????

:maybe their real faces look even more scarier!!!

- the villian must look scary ,he has a weird hairdo/getup ,evilish background music every time he enters,or uses a punch line or a slang ?????

: we have to and must hate the bad man

- when in disguise, a small mole on the cheek,a sunglass,or a beard, can help transfrom the hero beyond recognition.

: if the hero is recognised,the movie is over,so we the audience pretend we didnot recognise him and continue to enjoy the movie.

But... inspite of this 'tragic dearth of logic' ,we continue to watch movies and don't mind digestable doses of fantasy or magic in movies !!!!

2. Devika Menon

Devika Menon Gold IL'ite

Hey Meera ,

What a topic yaar!
    I have often thought about it.Look for some sense in these movies or trying to look for logical reasons for it is of no use.

Like we have heroes who are so thin, you wonder if they would fly in case you increase the speed of your fan , and then you see them singlehandedly beating up six to seven goons who look like they are Arnold schwazneggers bros.
    In Sholay Dharam paaji is atop a water tank. Now in a place where electricity is extinct how do you pump water yaar. The Thakur himself lives with lanterns at home!

Nice topic Meera.Good one enjoyed reading it.

Devika

3. latamurali

Dear meera

Big LaughBig LaughBig Laugh....super.....

Have you heard abt this " noothula oru kelvi", yours is like that..........hey i dont know abt hindi movies, but its all there in tamil movies also, let us watch movie as movie, why to hunt for other things or message etc.....My 2cents. :hide:

4. Balajee

Good question.Movies are an escape from the humdrum of everyday life as far as I am concerned. True many great thoughtprovoking movies have been made and are made.But for me the main function of movies is that of stressbusters by driving away the blues. If you see the movies that click nowadays the hits are mostly comedies, romantic or otherwise.But there is no need to look down on them. Let us remember Kingsley Amis' words: "All Art is Escape".

5. Sriniketan

Meera,
    What do you mean by logic...forget it and watch a movie....enjoy...
    there is no logic if you watch the movies and look for the same...because it doesn't have one..Big Laugh
    If you name it as magic it is acceptable but don't look for logic in that..

6. brindhak

brindhak Gold IL'ite

Dear Meera...

Big LaughBig LaughBig Laugh..Very good topic dear.... that too in tamil moveis OH MY GOD !!! we cannot see logic even for one movie coming out these days..Even the Big director Movies lacks Logic....

No way.. Its just a time pass thats it...

Thanx for the nice post dear !!!!

7. Mindian

good one meera,a movie is just to be seen as a time pass....something that makes u light headed and u should come out of the theatre feeling good... unless of course it is serious cinema and u want to appreciate moviemaking as an art...i personally prefer to keep my head and brains at home have a good time (all the more better if u can have a laugh) in there and come back...

Mindi

8. gsaikripa

gsaikripa Gold IL'ite

Dear Meera...

good topic.we cannot see logic in hindi & tamil movie coming out . It is a just .. time pass to see the movie & enjoy .........

9. meera2503

meera2503 Senior IL'ite

Hey Devika,

Thanks,yaar for appreciating this and for replying in the same fun spirit with which I wrote this.
    Yeah,you are right! really never thought about the scene in sholay !!Big Laughno electricity but having a water tank,some of these films can be silly.But still we love sholay,and don't mind watching it again and again.

meera

10. meera2503

meera2503 Senior IL'ite

hi lata,

Glad you enjoyed reading this. True,these films carry no messages and we should not try to hunt for any. Big Laughjust watch ,enjoy and forget it.

meera