| |||||||||||||||||
| |||
| Naughty's Burial For you, he's just a Dog, For him you are everything. Five years back my pomerian Dog Naughty died,after being sick for a week. He expired around noon.My ghter was very fond of him,and she was studying in mumbai since the last few months,and not having seen Naughty since then, .When i told her on the phone,that naughty is no more,she was crying uncontrolably,and requested me if she could come and see his dead body one last time. We too were very sad that day,and Naughty had been a part of our family for a good 9 years.And it was at the insistence of my elder daughter that we had brought Naughty into the house.Since then we all came to love him as our own child. I told her to come by the evening flight,and in between , we got ice slabs,and put Naughty on it till she arrived.Now the main problem was where to bury Naughty.We decided to bury him outside our Bunglow, on the footpath opposite our lane, where the Governer House Servants reside in the houses beyond.They raised objection,and then my office boy,he said i will take the body to my farm,and bury him there. But I wanted to bury him in my lawns inside.But my mother was adamant, that he should not be buried in the house,his ghost will keep haunting the house,and she said the garden will be full of skeltons,because I know you will buy another dog,and he too will die and again you will bury him in the garden,and so on. Ultimately against her wishes, I buried him in my lawns,with a bedsheet wrapped around him,and we put lots of salt in the pit for the decaying process to start faster,and lots of flowers and scent.Then we covered the grave and puts the flower pots over,to prevent outside dogs to jump in,and start eating the body. Now everyday i gaze at the spot where Naughty is buried,and remember him for a few moments,of the good times we had.We were blessed to have such a lovely companion, who gave us all that he had to give us. I always wondered how do pet owner's in mumbai bury their dead pets.I was not aware,and recentlyrful article came.I take the liberty from it.Here Goes Three Feet Under Indian Express - 19/11/06 - Page 13 by Manoj More Its a familiar dread that haunts every pet owner - the Hereafter when the family's favourite German Shepard or siamese dies.Burial spaces are scarce in the cities. The Pune Municipal corporation (PMC) has decided to set up a burial ground for not just pets but also for stray dogs,perhaps the first of its kind in the country.The chosen land is a one-acre plot in Nehrunagar,tucked away from the township and close to the Rose Garden.With a rich canopy of tall trees and dotted with shrubs,the civic body hopes there's enough space for all and complaints from none. The burial will cost Rs. 50 for licenced dogs and Rs. 100 for others.As of now, pune has more than 4000 licenced dogs.The corporation will issue a death certificate to the owner,besides placing heastones to identifying pets. I was very touched to read this article,who says Governments dont do anything.Hats off to whoever thought of this brilliant idea.It will give pet owners peace of mind that their dear pet lies in peace,instead of fearing that he may have been eaten by the other strays. Kamal Mahtani |
| ||||
| Dear Kamlji, nice write up sir.. ![]() I can understand how sad you have felt when you came to know that your Naughty is no more.. We also have experienced the same situation 4 yrs back when our Tommy (pomerian dog, he was 8yrs old) has left us. Tommy was like a family member and we never treated him as a dog.. It was nice of you to bury him in your lawn (as how many can do this..?) yes, they are lot of myths that we should not bury inside the house premises.. It really nice to hear that Pune Municipal corporation has decided to set up a burial ground for dogs, it would be great if other states also follow this..
__________________ ---- Khushnaseeb hai hum ke mile aap mujhe.. Tanha zindagi ke safar mein, mila saathi anmol mujhe ---- Invite your Friends to IL | Chalo Hyderabad | Visit AP forum Last edited by Senorita; 27th May 2008 at 01:48 AM. |
| |||
| Quote:
Dear Senorita, Same was the case with Naughty, a pomerian he was 8 or 9 when he died.He was a part of the family for us.Now we have Tuffy the Labrador, and he too is a gem.Regards.kamal |
| |||
| Quote:
Dear Aruna, Mickey surely lived a nice life of 17 years, rare for dogs to live so long.god bless him.But the big dogs, dont get scared they are docile with family members.play with them, love them, and see how they respond. Graves are very difficult to get for yr pets really.Regards.kamal |
| ||||
| Quote:
my jujaan came to me in 99 and i am worried about her, though touch wood she is fine now but then one knows what could and how i would be able to stand that...sunkan
__________________ ramana's q and a follows now in blog |
| ||||
| Dear Kamal Trust you to touch us with a great blog .. your opening lines said everything.. for the DOG we are his world and everything.. It truly is incredible the affection and love and Incredible loyalty that the Dog gives his master.. and mistress as the case.. my brother has a dog .. and when my brother is out of town the dog will not eat.. simply refuses to eat.. somehow knows when hes coming back and starts eating.. No other Gods creation exhibits this unconditonal loyalty than this species of God.. Here's to the memory of Naughty![]() |
| ||||
| Dear kamalji, I can relate myself to every word in the article.My pet dog jammy(my avatar) passed away last september.I could not be with him in his last days.I used to see him thru webcam.He fell sick and died.We did not have space in home.My dad owned a land in the ouskirts of city.We buried him along with his blanket,toys,puff.When i went to India few months back,my dad took him to see that place. As the car approached the place..my heart was filled with grief.we took him his fav food and water and prayed.My dad had kept a slab to mark the place.But it was all shattered.On thinking we came to know that it had steel rods..and some fellow broke it for the rods to sell and make money... .what to say..we are planning to make a memorial in that place.. Last edited by SupriyaDinesh; 27th May 2008 at 11:29 AM. Reason: Typo |
| ||||
| Dear Kamalji, I am a dog lover , I would say a best friends lover. All my life we have been having canines at home. I still remember as kids when somebody would come home and ask"Wheres your Dog"? We all brother and sisters would almost scream ,"Shes not a dog ok? Shes Sweety" She was not a dog for us but a family our sister and when she died after 11 years we were all very depressed . Now my daughter does the same she says,"Shes not a dog shes Muffin" Yes we did face a lot of problems with her burial as well but then ultimately found a place where we were permitted to bury. Its sad that there are still very few facilities for the animals as such here. I guess a lot still remains to be done for these wonderful friends for their life and after it. Regards, Devika
__________________ Have the SERENITY to accept the things you cannot change ,the COURAGE to change the things you can and the WISDOM to know the difference !!!! FINEST POST--- MARCH 2008 WINNER. Last edited by Devika Menon; 27th May 2008 at 02:01 PM. |
| ||||
| Kamalji, your post brought me back our memories... Our pet Cocoa passed away at his age of 3 + years, last september...my hubby took him to the vet hospital..on the way he passed away.. so he had decided to give him to the hospital for cremation...we still think of him everyday, in one way or the other.... Hats off to PMC and as you had said to whomever came out with this idea.... sriniketan
__________________ count your blessings.....and be happy.... ![]() 10 kurals a week.. |