Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read > Snippets of Life

Home Register Blogs Directory FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Snippets of Life Share anything that you encountered as you went about your life – a touching experience, a personal anecdote or a private reflection!

REGISTER TODAY! it is SIMPLE, EASY and FREE! You could also WIN a T-Shirt!
View Poll Results: To which one are you giving preference ?
Kumkum (Bindi) on head and/or forehead 5 41.67%
Thali (Mangal Sutra) 9 75.00%
Finger Ring 4 33.33%
Metti (the one you wear on Feet Finger) 4 33.33%
Others if any ... 1 8.33%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Old 24th May 2008, 01:51 PM

City: Lux
State: Lux
Post To which one are you giving preference ?

Dear IL Friends,

I would like to know to which one are you all giving preference .. Are you all still wearing your Thali (Mangal Sutra), Bindi, Metti, Finger Ring ... oh yes ofcourse, dress also but if anything else more if you are wearing (that makes you as Married / Indian women) you can include ...

I only remove my Thali when I do exercise (as it hits on face and nose ) and while sleeping ( not for other reason) otherwise It always hangs on my neck ... But, when I wear modern dress it doesn't suits me (already dress suit akuradhey periya vizhayam ) ... So, I always think, is it not bad to remove thali when we wear those modern dress ... is that okay ... ? is anyone out there still thinking like me and doing same as I am ...

Coming to Ring, I was wearing it very sincerely for 5 years until I found black marks and itchy, burning thing .. after that I wear only when I go out else it sleeps pavama in jewel box ...

Bindi and Metti is the only thing I never have removed and still wearing it ... what a nice girl eh! ...

So, I would like to know whether you are still wearing all, or any of them to your choice and preference ...

All your votes along with thoughts are welcome here ...

Regards, Suni ...

Laugh as much as you Breathe and Love as long as you Live...

Old 25th May 2008, 01:02 AM

City: Mumbai
State: Maharashtra
Default Re: To which one are you giving preference ?

Dear Suni

I wear everything and never remove . I feel a sumangali should never remove thali.
When I used to travel in the contract bus to go to Office one friend of mine used to say u are a Perfect lady as u dress up nicely with nice sarees and also always flowers on. But now a days girls dont put bindi when they wear jeans. It is also each one's belief

Originally Posted by lahy15 View Post
Dear IL Friends,

I would like to know to which one are you all giving preference .. Are you all still wearing your Thali (Mangal Sutra), Bindi, Metti, Finger Ring ... oh yes ofcourse, dress also but if anything else more if you are wearing (that makes you as Married / Indian women) you can include ...

I only remove my Thali when I do exercise (as it hits on face and nose ) and while sleeping ( not for other reason) otherwise It always hangs on my neck ... But, when I wear modern dress it doesn't suits me (already dress suit akuradhey periya vizhayam ) ... So, I always think, is it not bad to remove thali when we wear those modern dress ... is that okay ... ? is anyone out there still thinking like me and doing same as I am ...

Coming to Ring, I was wearing it very sincerely for 5 years until I found black marks and itchy, burning thing .. after that I wear only when I go out else it sleeps pavama in jewel box ...

Bindi and Metti is the only thing I never have removed and still wearing it ... what a nice girl eh! ...

So, I would like to know whether you are still wearing all, or any of them to your choice and preference ...

All your votes along with thoughts are welcome here ...

Regards, Suni ...

Old 25th May 2008, 02:05 AM

City: melbourne
State: victoria

I wear my Mangalsutra. I started to wear a ring on my wedding finger as Hubby gifted me a Garnet ring. The wedding ring is in India with my parents.

My Mangalsutra is a very senti one. It belonged to my MIL who died a Suhagaan. It was then given to me when I got married. It feels I have her constant guidance & blessings always.

Corallux
Old 25th May 2008, 04:07 AM
Greeter

City: 6th of october city
State: Cairo

Hi Suni
I wear my mangalsutra and bindhi everytime.
But mangalsutra not the one that I was given when I was married but a small one which is always there around my neck. As marriage one is too hugh so when I go to India sometimes I wear it there but not here,
Old 25th May 2008, 05:05 AM

Smile Re: To which one are you giving preference ?

Dear Viji,

Thanks for your immediate reply ... I respect your Belief and the importance you give for Thali ... As you say that's on one's own belief and Freedom... Thanks for sharring your thoughts here Viji ... Regards, Suni ...

Old 25th May 2008, 05:07 AM

Dear Corralux,

How nice and lucky you are to wear a Mangal sutra of your blessed MIL ... I bow to your resepect you give for her and thanks for sharing your thoughts and votes dear ... Regards, Suni ...

Old 25th May 2008, 05:11 AM

My dear Friend,

Welcome to this Thread ... ...

It's really a good idea to wear the alternative for Mangal Sutra as you say it is very heavy and I still wear it ... When I admitted in Hospital, they enquired about the special chain(as they do not know the importance of this Thali) and I explained its importance ... They were so surprised the sentiment on this ... But, they forced me to remove for the hospital rules ... But, I still respect it and keep wearing ...

Thanks for your thoughts dear friend ... Regards, Suni ...

Originally Posted by Arunarc View Post
Hi Suni
I wear my mangalsutra and bindhi everytime.
But mangalsutra not the one that I was given when I was married but a small one which is always there around my neck. As marriage one is too hugh so when I go to India sometimes I wear it there but not here,

Old 25th May 2008, 05:21 AM

City: pune
State: maharashtra

Hi Suni,

For us except bindi nothing is compulsory...but i don't wear even bindi as i am allergic...for some function if i am wearing saree then i use the kumkum that is kept in the temple and apply on my forehead.

My husband also likes me this way simple and neat...no ornaments except earrings.
Old 25th May 2008, 05:46 AM

City: Hyderabad
State: AP
Thumbs down Re: To which one are you giving preference ?

Hi Suni, how are you lol..

Hmm, i wear all that you have mentioned except my wedding ring. I wear that only when going out. Mangal Sutra is must and compulsory for us to wear and feel senti to take it out.. But i feel very lazy wearing saree, i will be much comfortable with Kurti & shalwar or some times jeans. I also love to wear bangles and have very nice collections of them.

I saw many of my people in here in Hyderabad, who will never were mangal sutra, wearing bindi & metti is far for them.. They have only rings to fingers but don't know they are wedding one's are not.. I wonder won't these people feel any thing being married not wearing mangal sutra.. My mom & aunt beside our flat keeps on advising our next door ladies in our apartments to wear mangal sutra and bangles always but they say chodo aunty wo sab nahi chalta and even our parents nor husbands won't say us to wear and we are happy like this..

But if we want to see people who follow our Indian culture we have to see in Tamil Nadu only.. Even now i can observe so many people in Chennai who will come out with all the things you have mentioned. We can also see so many ladies coming out with turmeric on face and on feet if its Friday especially..

Last edited by Senorita : 25th May 2008 at 05:48 AM.
Old 25th May 2008, 08:56 AM

Dear Roopadadia,

Culture differs according to Custom so Bindi has been compulsory on your side... But, Simple and Neat is always Sweet ... Thanks for sharing your thoughts here friend ... Regards, Suni ...

Originally Posted by roopadadia View Post
Hi Suni,

For us except bindi nothing is compulsory...but i don't wear even bindi as i am allergic...for some function if i am wearing saree then i use the kumkum that is kept in the temple and apply on my forehead.

My husband also likes me this way simple and neat...no ornaments except earrings.