Old 23rd March 2008, 08:35 PM
Forum Moderator

City: Charleston
State: West Virginia
Default Why daily activities took the role of excercises??

Dear friends,
Only in the TV I heard that some body was pointing out--that walking became an intrigue part of the excercise..
Okay I wanted to make a list of those daily activities of us which became excercise now:
1. walking---we don't do much because we use the 2 wheelers or even 4 wheelers but not the "Nataraja service' even to the nearby store or place...eg. me,---before driving I used to go up the hill for my son's school to drop him off and pick him up, last year, ( which takes only 8 min to and fro) which also formed a part of my excercise, but now, as I drive, i go only by car...

2. Eating on the dining table---this also makes our joints become stiff..and in due course we find it difficult even to sit down for a while---

3. eating with the spoon and fork---mixing the food with hands is also an indirect form of therapy for the hand.

4. As food processor are in market-- it even does the job for making the chappathi flour---no excercise here too for the hand..

5. remote control----do you know what this does---it doesn't make us even walk for a short distance, i.e., from the sofa to the TV to change the channels or volume or even put it off... the result what we call us as a 'couch potato'

6. Too many junk foods goes in while watching the TV, so it brings health issues..

7. No more crunchy snacks as we had during those days like cheedai, murukku, which did good things to make the teeth stronger or atleast it made our jaw work, but now???

8. washing machines....no more bending...but we do in the form of excercise, isn't it?

I am not blaming this trend, but atleast we can try to do our daily activites regularly not in the form of excercise but as our daily activites...to overcome some health issues we might face later in life.....

Old 24th March 2008, 12:14 AM

State: tamilnadu
Default Re: Why daily activities took the role of excercises??

dear sriniketan,

well said !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! a good thread for everybody to think...................but none of the human being has time to do any house hold work, ..............i feel we dont plan anything these days..........spending 1 to 2 hrs in a gym, that same time can be utilized at home to do these household work...............i am not blaming anybody

one day i was just passing by a temple.........with my kids.........i saw few young girls.............giving a flying kiss to the temple i e the God in that temple...........i think so .............hey kya zamaana aagaya hai.........dont they have time to even to step into the temple............or they were lazy

padma

The return of DUes to socieTY by way of labour and love is DUTY - Vethathiri Maharishi
Old 24th March 2008, 01:37 AM

City: singapore
State: singapore

hello sriniketan
u hav really pointed out the very basic thoughts tht v ought 2 do bfore thinking abt wt ,figure n maintenance.reading ur post reminded me the words of my granma advising all to first complete the work at home then think abt the work outside.it was not tht she discouraged us working outside but she really encouraged all of us to involve in the small chores at home which gives gd mind n body so tht v hav gd relations both in n out.
raji
Old 24th March 2008, 01:55 AM

State: TN

Dear Sriniketan,
Good Topic to discuss..Totally agree with you.We indeed have machines for everything.Starting from coffee maker to W/mc,dishwasher,food processor,microwave...list is endless.But, we need to agree that we do not have the time to do things in a sluggish way these days.With most women working,it becomes real hard to do all these jobs without the help of these machines..isnt it?Even if the women is at home, she needs to send DH, Childern to work and school on time..These days everyone start as early as 6.30 am!! So, i can say thta these machines are a boon as well as bane..We need to compensate for the lost activities by walking or doing workout...no other go...

Old 24th March 2008, 05:16 AM

City: Mumbai
State: Maharastra

good one.i totally agree with u.,ammi,attukalle araichu sappidukira ruchiye thani ruchi .aanal ippa ellarum mixie & wet grinder thaan use pannu kiraargal.
Old 24th March 2008, 05:45 AM
Forum Moderator

Hi Padma,
Thanks for stepping in.....

Flying kiss to God ....mmm... atleast we must be happy that think of Him....did you see clearly ,is it to God or some other human near the temple...just kidding....

Old 24th March 2008, 05:47 AM
Forum Moderator

Thanks for your FB, raji!

I totally agree with your grandma---but do we care for it and we realise only when the time comes, when we are not able to do things as before and remember what our parents and grandparents told us...wish, let it be not tooo late....

Old 24th March 2008, 05:51 AM
Forum Moderator

aishu,

Thanks for giving your side of the reply...it is true that as situation warrants, we invent new machines, which makes our life easier...but in the long run, pray that it is not too late, to compensate for the activities we lost as daily activities.... being compensated...in the form of excercises....

Old 24th March 2008, 05:55 AM
Forum Moderator

Hi saikripa,
Thanks for your reply.

I agree with you totally on this...add on to your list of 'stone vessels' ---kal chatti, where the sambar or any dish prepared in that tastes heavenly....
but who has the time to do those work, preparing the kal chatti for use, cleaning the ammi and attukall before and after use.....
You know where my parents live , they do small ammis and I also wanted one.... atleast we can show to the future generations that we used all these in a bigger form ...

Old 24th March 2008, 05:59 AM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 25

dear srini,
u remind me of the olden golden days, i have used attukkal and that too not a standard size as ours was a joint family and i had to roll with both my hand it was so big, and the yendram when pulses arrived from mayavaram from thatha's farm we have to break it into half the full moong and full urad have all to be done, even ural i remember we used to have to break the rice as those days we never had machine and another thing madi so we should not take it to the machine,it was a real work out and what people ate those days the idlis were so massive and a 6 of that for the morning breakfast and parothas i remember rolling it for my mother very large size and some 12 for a member a big kadai full of veg used to vanish in no time, and now of course i am still searching for a standard size attukkal for the thogayal without water, so good it was and the wood stove, mm now all in a hurry burry and the taste also back seat..true, u have forgotten the computer, the window to many like us..sunkan