| |||||||||||||||||
| ||||
| It all started one day when I informed my hubby dear that I would like to grow ONE karela plant. Mainly because its expensive to buy and I like it so its easier to grow one. Now the keyword here is ONE. Do pay attention. I just said ONE. I am not truly aware of how it happened but before I knew it hubby dear had bought 2 dozens of Okra seeds, begged or borrowed or stole some avarakkai seeds and pudalangai seeds and elavan seeds. And believe this or not before I could open my mouth to protest he had started getting the vegetable beds ready too. (see picture in garden forum). Why Okra you might ask? THat being the ever favorite with dh and ds. So Okra was given the mighty honor of bed of its Own. In all this medley my poor Only ONE karela was forgotten. He must have felt bad so he prepared ONE spot for my karela away from his Okra beds. Now that we have started our seeds indoors its our most important work everyday to go and check on them. Especially when we wake up we have to rush and see our seed pots. For a few days we did not see any sign of life at all. And then one seedling slightly emerged. You have to imagine the thrill we felt seeing it. We both peered over it so much that it might have felt shy so it stopped showing itself for a few days. In the next few days some more spurts and some more seedlings showing up. We both felt like new parents and acted all young and excited at the growth and progress of our babies. Well today saw some discontent among the new parents (thats us!). One seedling which we have been monitoring for the past 2 days was slowly emerging but it had a big clump of soil on top of its head that it couldnt move (really!). So I wanted to move the mud so the baby could come out easily but my hubby disagreed with me. Ofcourse I didnt listen to what he said and moved the soil a bit. I now want to move the soil a little for all the peeping seedlings so it will be easier for them to come out. SO we are fighting all over again. Dont you agree that I should move my soil some more or do you think the topic name was totally misleading !! |
| |||
| AC, It is nice that both you and your hubby are equally passionate about gardening. Lucky plants - you are taking such good care of them. I am waiting to see pictures of your karela and okra.
__________________ Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in getting up every time we do. - Confucius |
| ||||
| Ac dearie, Gardening and parenting... Loved the way you described gardening, will definitely check out the plants at the pictures. Coming to parenting, I believe, children have natural instincts of survival. the small plant will shake off the small mud, once it feels strong, why would it waste the strength in shaking of a small piece of mud, when it can strengthen itself and do that later..( my view.) And as a parent, I would let my child learn by falling and getting up, instead of stifling them with my over protective insticts and also indulgence...but that does not mean I will not be there to help if the going gets tough... May this is what you were trying to put forth in the post...and have i caught the essense of your feeling behind the post..???
__________________ Love, Shanthi Adopt the pace of nature, her secret is patience(Ralph Emerson) Lullabies; Being Tough; Acharya Devo Bhava Last edited by Shanvy; 17th March 2008 at 06:03 AM. |
| |||
| Dear Chitra, Well the title was misleading for sure.HAAH.I dotn know much about gardening,though i have a big garden, two sides of my house.But yes u are acting like parents to the karela's and their cousins eh ! Wishing yr children a happy growth. REgards.kamal |
| ||||
| Dear Anand chitra, Very nice ! No I really dont think the topic was misleading. Its very true that plants need to be tended to as children,Who else will know it better than you? Lovely parental love can give rise to happy plants, laughing flowers and plumpy fruits and veg. I love plants and come from a family of green hands. Infact my Mom and Aunt speak to the plants and get a nonverbal response. I loved reading it and also loved the enthu in your hubby. Regards, Devika
__________________ Have the SERENITY to accept the things you cannot change ,the COURAGE to change the things you can and the WISDOM to know the difference !!!! FINEST POST--- MARCH 2008 WINNER. |
| |||
| Dear AC, I loved the wit in your write up though must admit why do hubbies never give in to our wishes.....same thing happened with me too wanted a karela plant and got a huge bed of runner beans, brinjals and okras....cause they are his favs.....but yes it is exciting to see the young ones peep up.....really cute i must say...we even talked to them to show them that we are there you know..... loved your write up dear... warm wishes, aqua. |
| ||||
| AC, Nice to read about your write-up. as Shanthi pointed out the young sprout will shred away the mud over its head. This time I side your DH ![]() This reminds me of a story where a student saw the struggling of the larvae inside the cocoon, tear it open ( to him it is the help) but the butterfly didn't emerge..alas ..at last ..you guess.. nature has its own way to survive, don't worry..don't be overindulgent....it is one of the characteristics of parenting, isn't it! sriniketan |
| ||||
| Hi AC, Really, the title is not misleading...... I feel gardening is a form of parenting too.......i do the same with my tiny plants.....I don't know about parenting kids......but parenting my little saplings/plants is really fun......and it makes me feel so proud that my work is fruitful....... Regards.
__________________ Meeta |
| ||||
| Thank you friends... its always so much nicer to share here..it triples the joy so to speak.. Kamalji atlast you deem me fit enough for yur reply.. kya bath hai ji..aap ka standard mujhe nahi mil sakthe! hahaha.. Aqua.. dont know why dh's just go overboard with their veggies and not ours.. looks like he was scheming all along for a way to plant rows and rows of okra n beans... now he is busy getting a bean tower ready !! and my plants only need creeping space.. no tower needed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
![]() ![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |