| |||||||||||||||||
| ||||
| hi vanaja, Yes. the programme was good.. all the national channels were carrying the same..only the tamil channels were showing movies or movie oriented... my kids love the parade..as you say the children need to see these kind of programmes more..
__________________ Love, Shanthi Adopt the pace of nature, her secret is patience(Ralph Emerson) Lullabies; Being Tough; Acharya Devo Bhava |
| ||||
| Hi Vanaja, Thanx for the post...It was good reading about the parade...It made me nostalgic....I have always watched the whole prog while in India. I missed it this time. Though we get to see DD here in Riyadh..it is usually not clear in the mornings.... Thanx for sharing ur feelings...... bye |
| ||||
| hi shanvy, did you say that only tamil channels were attached to movies? what a pity! now a days it is not that safe to comment on channels. let us take only the good. thanks for the reply. |
| ||||
| Dear Vanaja Thank you so much for writing about it here. I felt like i was there too. Thanks so mch for sharing. You really have a good writing style. Jai Hind. |
| ||||
| Very apt thread. I did wish my parents republic day on fone. They consider this as bigest festival in whole year. We talked a lot about how DD used to be sole respite in old times, My father retired from army after 40 years of services. He has had some tough postings those in kashmir, Leh and Laddakh to quote some. We have had a childhood where we saw our father twice a month. Sometime even lesser.But never our mom let us feel down. She was so energetic and full of life that we never felt that dad is away. even till today my mom take pride in calling her army woman.. She says those who live for themselves can never undertsand this feeling of doing soemthing for your country. I have one uncle who is still in army. And you should listen his stories of war. We had one more elder uncle who had been in 65 war..and Man! you will live through the horror while hearing those stories. I wished to be army officer until this materialism bug bit me. Then I went for engineering. There was no pressure on us to go in army. But we clearly knew it would have made family very happy if we pursued one. Later I wanted to marry an army officer. Those plans again got replaced by this material me. So here I am feeling proud of being from Army family and being away from my country and still feel.. At least we have one relative in form of my elder sis's husband serving in Air force. "Koi baat too tujh main hai ei Ahal-e-watan...Ki bhulaye nahi bhool paati teri mitti ki khushbu..Main Kahin bhi basera karun..ek vadaa tujh se hai..Ki khakh meri tujh main hii ake milegi.." I just went to grocery store one hour back. And to my pleasure store was playign patriotic songs.. My favorite.. "e mere vatan ke logo jara aankh main bhar lo paani Jo shahid hue hain unki jara yaad karo kurbani" Wonderful song. For few minutes my throat was choked. I could not concentrate on anything else. And then I saw almost every one had grim patriotic feeling on their face. I reveled in the fact that.. "You can take person out of India, but you can never take India out of a person," Happy republic day. Long live India! Ria Last edited by Ria2006; 26th January 2008 at 04:21 PM. |
| ||||
| Join me in wishing all a Happy Republic Day! Thanks for bringing to light what went through other channels during this Day, Vanaja! If the programmes bring out the patriotism in the future generation, that is indeed worth watching those programmes. sriniketan |
| ||||
| Ria, Nice reading this post of urs. I understand ur pride being from the army family.. I had a handful of friends whose Dads were in the Army. While visiting their home, as kids, it used to be a spl feeling entering the army quarters itself. So I take the pride in having friends from the Army .The song "Ae mere watan le logon...." touches u whenever u hear it. I almost feel the same while hearing "Sandese aate hain..."from the film Border. Glowing tributes to our jawans... Bye Quote:
|
![]() ![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |