Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)

Old 6th November 2007, 12:00 PM

City: Boston
State: Mass
Default Re: What Is Getting Ready In Your Kitchen For This Diwali

I really envy you guys for getting ready for Diwali. Which I am not able to do in US.
As there is no holiday (I have exhausted all my leaves) and Diwali is on weekday.

Anyway I will be celebrating on friday and saturday.

~Punitha

Old 6th November 2007, 01:02 PM
Forum Moderator

City: Charleston
State: West Virginia

Alright friends,
I have made up my mind on what to do for Deepavali;

sunflower seeds urundai,
badam cake
ribbon pakoda
corn flakes mixture
gulab jamun
thattai
thenkuzhal--without salt for my mil
and
deepavali marundhu

Sriniketan
Old 6th November 2007, 01:07 PM

City: Boston
State: Mass

Hi Sriniketan,
WHy don't you send something for me too........

~Punitha
Old 6th November 2007, 07:26 PM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 25

Originally Posted by Arunarc View Post
Hi Sunkan
Nice thread what is getting ready in the kitchen. Let me add mine too.
Never made much as I am not getting much here. I made kadabus 2 type one with wheat flour filling(this is my mom's favourite) and the other coconut filling, sankarpalli, kadaboli, 2 types of chivadas one is with rice puffs and the other with cornflakes, samoasas made them and kept them in the freezer will fry them on friday as have invited some friends for dinner and having a laxmi pooja on that day, and tomorrow will make kaju katli, and coconut ladoos
Wish you and your family a very HAPPY DIWALI AND HAPPY NEW YEAR
hai aruna,
nice to see the sparks from here, vow so many items i amsure your friends are really lucky to have u around..all the best the sparks have come through indus to all of us here...happy diwali to you too and new year..
sunkan
Old 6th November 2007, 07:30 PM

Originally Posted by Kamla View Post
Oh wow ! Your list of goodies in the kitchen sounds awesome Aruna...

hey kamla,
happy to see you here, checking with different list right, i know how you love all those foodies to be discussed and if photographs are there, it drools you no end, well u need to wait for diwali to start with crackers to bring out the pictures..sunkan
Old 6th November 2007, 07:32 PM

Originally Posted by Shobanag View Post
So far I have made - ribbon pakoda, mullu thenkuzhal and besan milk burfi. Since I work full time, I made these over the weekend and ordered that no one is to touch them until Friday!!

Shanvy - hope you are feeling better now - oil burns can be so painful - take care.
dear shoba,
nowadays woman are double strong they make all stuff during weekends and never let their children miss anything..ribbon pakoda seems in most list..they are my fav too...sunkan
Old 6th November 2007, 07:36 PM

Originally Posted by Sriniketan View Post
Alright friends,
I have made up my mind on what to do for Deepavali;

sunflower seeds urundai,
badam cake
ribbon pakoda
corn flakes mixture
gulab jamun
thattai
thenkuzhal--without salt for my mil
and
deepavali marundhu

Sriniketan
dear srini,
this is something new what is this sunflower seeds urundai, mm badam cake vow thattai i have to master yaar my hubby used to be mad about it and mil used to enjoy doing that for him, mullu murukku is giri's fav and rava ladu, which he tasted yesterday, yes, he has arrived just in time for diwali, but all of us are sick with cold,fever and cough, still will have to finish with the one thing in mind that my chitra will soon leave for her inlaws home and next diwali if god wishes would be thala diwali but as a dil of their house more than my daughter, so making the most this diwali, with whatever she wants done..sk
Old 6th November 2007, 07:38 PM

Originally Posted by puni88 View Post
I really envy you guys for getting ready for Diwali. Which I am not able to do in US.
As there is no holiday (I have exhausted all my leaves) and Diwali is on weekday.

Anyway I will be celebrating on friday and saturday.

~Punitha
dear puni,
i feel sorry for you, wish u were around here, any way some indus ladies somewhere if they read this could send u something from their kitchen i pray from here for that to happen..sk
Old 6th November 2007, 07:40 PM

Originally Posted by Vandhana View Post

Ladies nice to see all the yummy stuff being made in all your homes

Shanti, God does show small mercies on us all. Am so glad that you did not have a major incident, and escaped intact. Hope and pray the rest of deepavali goes of well. As everyone has said, get all your sweets and snacks from one of the shops.

Well as for me, whats cooking in my place? I am making Thattai, dates halwa and basandhi ( both with sweetner, since DH is diabetic).
Thats all. just keeping it simple this time.

Vandhana
dear vandhana,
try those ladus with fructose which he can eat without guilt, the moong ones and rava ladu, all these u can just change the sugar and it tastes yummy, me too a diabetic, but this time around too sick to remember, may be today as moong ladu getting ready today along with okkarai...sk
Old 6th November 2007, 07:45 PM

Originally Posted by ramyanand View Post
Hi sunkan
Ive made only kajukatli..im plannin to make mysorepak,gulabjamun and ribbon pakoda..If possible butter muruku too...

Shanvy,
Thank gud u r fine...Its really god's miracle!!
My mom used to call me often whenevr i make savories and ask me to be extra careful while handling hot oil...

Ramya
VOW KAJU KATLI,
never made that,any way not a sweet tooth so never concentrated in my life to find out how to do it. nice list of butter murukku and ribbon pakoda, great happy diwali sk