1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Was It Worth It?

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by twinsmom, Sep 4, 2007.

1. twinsmom

twinsmom Silver IL'ite

Every now and then I feel that I had chosen the wrong profession. Why hadn’t I chosen to be a journalist, an RJ, a novelist, a translator-- why did I become a teacher?
    I remember my post graduate years when there were discussions about our career options and I used to vehemently declare I’d never become a teacher even if I had to starve to death… The reason was that as a student I was notoriously obnoxious and decided that I’d do anything but deal with students like ‘me’. Well, Fate has this funny way of laughing at you and there I was, well into my 13th year of teaching.
    Why did I opt to be a teacher?
    I suppose I should admit one thing- I became a teacher because I had opted to be one. Well, I was not in it for money… God knows I, like all my colleagues all over the world, was underpaid for the mammoth task I had undertaken.
    Glamour? Covered with chalk dust and lugging piles of books, trying not to degenerate into hysterics…? Hah! Fat chance!
    The joy of spreading knowledge?Who am I kidding? I know that for every achiever feathering my teaching cap, there were dozens who gave me nightmares…or sleepless nights!
    Then why was I a teacher?
    I guess I know why, inside my heart, when…
    …I saw light dawning on a few faces at last when I got through to them.
    …I shared light-hearted moments with my students while I let them relax and ‘interact’ in class.
    …While travelling by train suddenly a young man or a pretty lady came near me and asked me, “Are you a teacher?” “Did you teach in…?”And then… “Ma’am…I was your student! Are you still a teacher?”
    Then follows a wonderful session of recalling the highlights of their academic years, remembering all my students…and colleagues…