1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Ye Olde Herbivore!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by ojaantrik, Dec 20, 2009.

1. ojaantrik

ojaantrik IL Hall of Fame

[FONT=&quot]My wife is a diehard fish eater. Most Bengali women are, in fact, created that way. A bit like cats I guess. I swear though that she doesn't sport a tail, even if she treats me as one. I enjoy my fish too, but not the same way that she does. For her, a fish-less day bears a precarious resemblance to the hapless day Yudhishthira encountered hell. And believe me, she enjoys her fish to the last fish-bone she crushes, chews and extracts the juice out of! [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]
    I love my food, non-vegetables included, but I'm not an expert in the food technology. It's she who loves buying the raw materials for the delicious victuals she prepares. And I cannot help admiring the ecstasy in her eyes when she dances back home with what she calls a live fish, even when it looks as dead as a doornail!

"It was still jumping," she informed me with unadulterated excitement this morning, meaning thereby that it was gasping as it struggled for life when its flesh was being weighed prior to being slaughtered. Believe me friends, such live fish are the tastiest of them all.

I know of course that I shall enjoy the fish curry she will prepare. Yet, I need to admit that she made me worry, just as much as I worry to distraction every time she succeeds in laying her hands on "live" fish. On all such occasions, I temporarily put on a vegetarian-hat and ask the question that people have asked ever since human beings were created.