1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

My first post about my first air travel !!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Neelambari9, Dec 1, 2009.

1. Neelambari9

Neelambari9 New IL'ite

My first flight journey

After reading a post on this forum about the first flight journey, I am inspired to write mine. Not sure how interesting I can make it, but I am going to try. I always had the urge to write, but lacked the confidence as I thought I wasn't equipped with the rich vocabulary that most writers are endowed with.

I think the time has finally come…I'll leave the rest to you to decide.

It was the year 1998, I was working for a software firm in Chennai and was deputed overseas. Even though going to US was a dream, I was left with mixed emotions. I had been working for only 9 months, so I wasn't really ready to travel to a far country alone. All the visa formalities were taken care of by my employer and I was handed the tickets. By the time I reached home with the tickets, my mom and aunt had packed 2 huge suitcases. Needless to say it was my first air travel, I had never been on a plane before and here I am taking a 30+ hr trip from Chennai to Indianapolis with overnight stay in New York! My God, I was terrified.