Past and Present

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by iyerviji, Apr 18, 2009.

In olden days the parents were not so educated so they could not achieve so many things. Financially some were not well off. So they could not educate their children much.

Ladies were well versed in cooking. They could not go out also to see the outside world. Mostly everyone was in joint families. They could not sit also in front of elders. Only when the elders especially when men were not around they could have their way. People who were in villages were experts in putting rangoli, in cooking etc. When any occasion comes everyone used to put big rangoli in front of their house with border in red which we call it kaaavi.

On festival days the ladies in the house used to put big rangolis in front of their house, keep everything ready for the pooja to be done on the festival day, cook delicious food with all the dils in the kitchen and the elders taking rest and giving their valuable advice to the daughters in law.

Slowly people were educated and instead of working in the fields , the men started working in the office . Later many of them became graduates ,so they could get a better job as Accountant etc. So they could educate their children also well .

At present everyone is well educated and are well off and the children are now a days double graduates. From childhood only children learn so many things, they are good in singing, taking part in competitions, in school they get to learn from the age of 2 yrs. Though the youngsters are double graduates some are very well trained by their parents and know how to give respect to the elders and take care of the elders.

Now the youngsters teach their grandparents what they could not learn when they were young and keep them happy. They don’t spend their time in gossiping but do some useful job. Mostly everyone is working now a days and being working women also they spend time teaching their children of the latest things. Kids are also smart and learn very fast and know everything. I thing the kids of today learn in the womb only because the present mothers are well educated.

The present youngsters keep themselves busy and always encourage everyone and impart knowledge to others . Especially in IL I find everyone is co operative , take everything sportive, help others in need and give encouragement to everyone.

2. shvap_786

shvap_786 Gold IL'ite

Dear viji aunty...

You said it rightly, so much have changed and nowadays there is no time for gossip or any such activity... everyone is occupied with their duties for which really they dont have time...

now theya re well versed in all acitivites and more smart to handle everything....

3. Padmini

Padmini IL Hall of Fame

dear viji,
    very nicely you have brought out the difference between the past and present life system. at that time there were no machines, so ladies had to do all the things. but now for each and every work machine has taken the place of man. so people have time to spend to improve their life style. children are also very smart in grasping things.very well presented.
    pad

4. Padmasrinivas

Padmasrinivas Silver IL'ite

Dear Viji,

Progress is the key word... change is inevitable in every sphere, physical, material, intellectual and spiritual...

My Guruji says that we must change ourselves, adapt our way of thinking with the modern times, accept the transformation that takes place... if we stagnate within the olden way of life, evolution is impossible...

Some changes are beneficial, the world has progressed to such an extent that we are able to Skype someone on the other side of the world and see each other and talk as though we are face to face in the living room!

In fact, children are so well-informed on all fronts that they actually teach the older generation the intricacies of the new advances in science and technology, particularly in the IT field!

Interesting observation of life then and now... well-written, Viji dear,

Padma

Last edited: Apr 20, 2009
  5. iyerviji

Dear Vahee

Thanks for your first fb. Good to know that you liked the post.

6. iyerviji

Dear Padmini

Ya because of the machines the life has changed and I think because of the machines some are having health problems because they dont have exercise for their body. Children get to know so much from tv and also so many books are there to learn from

Dear Padma

Thanks for stepping in and enjoyed reading your reply.

8. rajiravi

rajiravi Bronze IL'ite

Dear viji m'am,

You are rightly explained the past and present. This shows your experience and approach towards things. I have seen so many grand parents grumbling, "now-a-days, children do not know how respect elders, they do what they want, olden days we were not like that", etc, etc.... But i really like your positive approach.

When we were small, we never used to utter a word in front of our parents, even when it comes to our lunch, our dress or our studies, whatever it is, we never argue. But now-a-days, children are very clear about what they want and they do not hesitate to say, what they want to do and we should accept that most of the times they are right. I think we are giving the freedom to them - to think, to talk and to do what they want to and they also know that they should not cross their limits. Overall, now-a-days children are very sharp and out-spoken. You have clearly pointed it out. Nice post m'am.

9. iyerviji

Dear Raji

Thanks for your wonderful fb. Glad to know that you liked the post and I agree with what you have replied

10. iyerviji

Dear Raji

Thanks for your feedback. Glad to know that you liked the post and I agreewith what you have written.