Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)

Old 22nd July 2008, 03:51 AM

City: panaji
State: Goa
Arrow Are we lured by good packing?

Initially I thought of the caption as'Are we lured by good packages'? Suddenly I rememebered it might be tagged with corporates companies offering lakhs or is it going to be in crores? i need to wait and watch.

Few years ago as a trainee in BARC Information centre ,I had come across a book on packaging. it was published under the banner of indian Institute of Packaging. Thoroughly interesting. But could not lay hands on that on the very next day. I could not locate or rather trace the book. I still feel sorry for what had happened.

Those were the days of my prime youth. May be the priorities during the prime time were-- ------------. Anyway i lost the chance of a very informative book on designing packets economically andmake it attractive for the consumers.
Then nor had packaging assumed such significant part. Those early days of independence when availability was a millon dollar question. Availability was more than important. Looks definitely had to take a back seat.
Moreover there was nothing to compete. Few products and a teeming million population dreaming a heaven on earth after gaining freedom.-What else could consumers expect?
Now our super bazaars provide us with desi and also videshi- From Korean to USA(Ulhasnagar) to American- -- --

Even at this age an attractive packet compels me to buy the prodcut. You might call it impulsive buying.
But tell me doesn't the captions and the illustrations convince us with all its superficialityBe it a soap, or Tea packet or an Horlicks packet it plays at our heart level , capture our emotions and convices our brain with all its colourful wrappers and arresting statements.

Have a beautifully designed packet I feel half the battle is won.
The tea may taste just like anyother tea. Yet, todate I keep the carton for days to come. My hand refuses to extend itself to the nearby bin.
Such is the imapct of good coverings.
I still envy those who are in this chosen field for who can excel them in creativity.
This reminds me of the book'Hidden Persuaders/Van Packard.
A bible for people in advertising and in the profeesion,.
Tell me does, attractive cartons impells you to buy products which otherwise would not have foun place in your list? Are you tempted to keep them atleast for sometime. kanaka

Last edited by kanaka; 22nd July 2008 at 04:05 AM.
Old 22nd July 2008, 12:54 PM

State: TamilNadu
Default Re: Are we lured by good packing?

Dear kanaka,
Yes,yes and yes.Attractive cartons and I fall for that.
As you have said an attractive bottle or dubba always finds a place in my kitchen, till my DH or my daughter on a visit manages to throw it out.
mithila kannan

Tact is the art of recognising when to be big and when not to belittle
Old 22nd July 2008, 05:29 PM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

City: Charleston
State: West Virginia

I agree with you Kanaka.....good packing, good ad...would always lure people to buy it, even though the material inside will be the same as the other...

10 kurals a week..
Old 22nd July 2008, 11:13 PM

City: Kolkata
State: West Bengal

Originally Posted by Sriniketan View Post
I agree with you Kanaka.....good packing, good ad...would always lure people to buy it, even though the material inside will be the same as the other...

Unquestionably, good packaging is an important symbol of consumer society. Especially when you buy gifts for others. On the other hand, hi-fi packages add to the price of the product. I am told that some shops in the western world offer you a cut in the price if you are willing to forego the package stuff. And I am simply thrilled by the way they package their products in Japan. Their packages are pieces of art.
Old 23rd July 2008, 01:04 AM

City: Jaipur
State: Rajasthan
Referrals: 6

Dear Kanaka,

Well all depends on the individual.For edample my mother will buy things, even if not needed, if the packing is good , or the gifts given alongside aer good.

As for me, I will not buy anything that I don’t need.Packing and price is immaterial, or their advertisement.

Like these days they are saying the Kent Water is very good which Hema Malini sells,but I will not buy even at 50% discount, as I am fine without it, I have never been sick by water, so why waste 15000/-

But then Kanaka, each to their own, every person is right in their own way.Regards.kamal
Old 23rd July 2008, 01:19 AM

Dear Kamal,

Very true. As you said it's all a state of mind. But an expensive gadget when packed with no care for the material pains us. The Dell laptop which we purcahsed has been delievered from Malayasia. The care taken to avoid risk during shipment is laudable.That extra care speaks volumes about their service and respect to the customer. This was my way of looking at it.
Here in India there is scant respect for the safety of the material. Thank you. kanaka
Old 23rd July 2008, 01:26 AM

Here too some follow this practice. But let me tell you a joke. Few years ago the shop keepers expected to carry newspapers to wrap the Pav. My husband has experienced that. Go to a laundry only with carry bag if you are so particular about wrapping things!

The amount of research done on this area is amazing. as a young girl it was all the more a thrilling experience. Thanks for the feedback. kanaka
Old 23rd July 2008, 01:30 AM

Dera Mithila and Srini,

Exterior is equally important to take care of the material inside. These days moisture gets into medicine strips. Lack of attention to such aspects could be the raeson. kanaka
Old 4th August 2008, 05:39 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

City: Navi Mumbai
State: Maharashtra

Dear Kanaka,

Attractive packing can modestly conceal a cheap gift. Now a days people enter the dollar 40 to 90 shop (Goods ranging from Rs. 40 to 90), which are very fragile and can break even with the tap of our nail, wrap them in lovely packs and gift it to people. Do not ask how long it stayed in their place after gifting!

Attractive packing also attracts shoppers, but, I would like to check and counter check before I buy any item and then go for the attractive gift wrap option.