| |||||||||||||||||
| ||||
| In the movie Dasavathaaram, the opening scene is set in the 12th century Tamil Nadu where the Chola Dynasty, King Kulathunga Chola II, who is a big Lord Shiva devotee decides to start a major redevelopment of the Nataraja Temple in Chidambaram which also housed Lord Vishnu's idol in the form of Lord Govindarajan and decides to remove the idol forcibly against the wishes of vaishnavites, followers of Lord Vishnu. Here comes in Rangaraj Nambi, a Vaishnavite who grew up with the CHola King and was buddies with him, who resists the effort of the king to remove idol, the king does not pay heed and tells Rangaraj that if he praised Lord Shiva , then he would spare his life, Rangaraj refused and he is chained to the idol and immersed in the sea alongwith the idol. That scene touched me so much that I have to mention and write about it. In the screen the actor is torn between his love for the Lord and his love for the family and an innocent child. Why did he hesitate to make that decision? Ofcourse the family and child is far more important than the stone idol, is it not. Could there ever be a question whether God can be the only important and no other alternative? That scene symbolised to me the choice each one has to make in one's life. It does not have to be as dramatic as this scene were it involved life and death. Still a choice is a choice. It could be whether to accept a bribe when all your values and principles are against doing so. Why then would you choose to accept a bribe or give a bribe. Many times its because a child is involved or even a family member. A choice needs to be made at that moment and one makes it. Sometimes the choice could be how much of an adjustment one has to make with a mother-in-law.? Should the young bride let her husband;s mother start of dominating her life? SOmetimes an older woman faces this dilemma and wonders how long should I put up with my mother-in law? ISnt it time to make a stand? There a choice has to be made. Even a parent can be overbearing and continue to treat a grown child as a youngster and makes one make the choice of telling the parent to backoff and let one live one’s life. A choice to make. A woman after a long days work would prefer to put her feet up in the sofa and watch t.v as opposed to help children with homework,warm dinner, get ready for the next morning, and so much more. A choice is being made . If its based on the best interests of her family then she probably works harder. A teacher is asked to grade the exams leniently so as to get everyone passed through to the next grade. Maybe its against the teachers best values principles but she remembers in time her family is dependent on her income. Or maybe it’s a father with many mouths to feed who faces a situation? A choice again needs to be made. Why does one have to make a choice and why is it so difficult to make the choice? Does it get easier with age or does it get more tough with the type of choice? One makes a choice at a moment which then would determine the other moments following it. The choice influences the path taken further in life. The choice determines and sets the tone for the character and value of that person. The more difficult the choice, the more better the outcome. For if one does choose to make the tough choice to uphold the innermost convictions in one’s heart, the soul resurfaces at that moment and the individual life gets in touch with the soul. That would be a very rare moment in any life and so worth making every single tough choice that comes one’s way. |
| ||||
| Hi Chitra mam, very nice analysis and write up..!! Yeah that scene was very well captured and shown excellently. We come across such people rarely who can sacrifice there life for the principals they believe in. Off course deciding a choice between in such conditions is very difficult..!!
__________________ ---- Khushnaseeb hai hum ke mile aap mujhe.. Tanha zindagi ke safar mein, mila saathi anmol mujhe ---- Invite your Friends to IL | Chalo Hyderabad | Visit AP forum |
| ||||
| Dear most AC akka, I just saw yesterday night Dasavatharam.... Though I didnt like the movie... Your analysis made me to think: Bribe or no bribe... Great... The most important dilema a man goes through is to stand by his wife or his parents... The wife has left everything and everybody and come purely depending upon the husband... The parents have sacrificed everything... all their happiness for their son... The well being, smooth running and success of the family lies in how the person balances between his parents and wife... At every stage of life a person has to make a choice... It may be correct or it may be wrong... that only time can tell... Again it depends upon what is important to the person... Looking from the third persons point it will not give clarity to as to why he does it in such a way... My boss once told me for each and every person God has defined a set path... But he has given him the free will to chose his path... If you chose the right path, you will succeed... If not, then you will be hit and hit and hit... and you will be pushed to wards the right path... Again God will give you the option to chose or not... and this process continues... I agree with you, the tough the decision a person has to make, it will show the intent of the person to with hold his principles... This will bring out the greatness of the person... Veda
__________________ Life is short and sweet. so enjoy the most..... -------------------------------- From the desk of vedhaas |
| ||||
| Quote:
Your choice of words are very nice too... Like you say sometimes certain situations come in life where thoughts of others like family take a precedence when making a decision. I feel that these small steps that one takes is what is important and thus shape one's life... Thanks for writing in:) |
| ||||
| Quote:
I feel glad you liked my analysis and reflection.. It came about because my son asked me what I liked about the movie.. can name only one thing.. without doubt for me it was the opening scene.. I see a movie once in 20 years or so.. after ages I saw Mozhi and then this.. so some thoughts come out and I feel I should write about it.. As an actor the lead person depicted all the tough emotions on his face and what a setting with the huge stone diety of Lord... Not all of us are priveledged to make tough decisions sitting in the Lord's lap but there is never any doubt in my mind that God is always there when you make choices and the tougher the choice the more eager is God to help his child.. |
| ||||
| Quote:
I was not sure how this would be recieved so I am immensely happy you have shared your thoughts here.. I agree with you that we are leaving a pre ordained path but we have a free will thoughout to make our own decisions ALL the time:) In school I had learned about the Greeks, Romans and Jews and such but not about this Chola king and the vengeance launched against the Shaivites! Imagine my reaction watching God's staunch devotees subjected to torture.. Like I said earlier I watch very very movies so appreciated the choice the actor had to portray.. after it was only a word.. can you imagine.. As a professional you would come across so much more.. its just the way of life today!.. maybe no place for principles and values!.. or maybe there is a little space:) |
| ||||
| Quote:
Churning up valubale articles and stories has become the second name of my sweety pie. The toughest decision has to be made the earliest. It saves us from all health hazards too. The reason for unhappiness in ones life is the delay in making the choice, the big leap with all hopes pinned on the Almighty. Very valuable topic.
__________________ Mals Jupiter Transit 08-09, Finest Post Winner - October 2008, My Blogs A Daughter's Plea, Lost Identity, Story of a Mother, |
| ||||
| Quote:
|
| ||||
| Dearrest Chitra, Being considered honest, if a person has to lie which wouldn't harm anyone what should he do? Then it's a relative term. Remember the 'BIG LIE of Winston Churchill. He saved England from a big disaster. kanaka |
![]() ![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |