1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Driving with Meena!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by meenasankaran, Nov 18, 2015.

1. meenasankaran

meenasankaran Platinum IL'ite

I took a short road trip with a favorite niece of mine yesterday. In her early twenties, she is everything that I am not. Young, hip-hop and adventurous, she is also ridiculously smart. She munches on Math for a snack and sips on Science for a drink. Poor child…she has problems that way but all her brain power turned to unrecognizable mush yesterday after 3 hours with me in a car.

I am an excellent driver. No one can say otherwise. Safety is the name of the game when I am behind the wheels. If your self-worth is somehow tied to your ability to beat others, get in your car and drive by my side. There are days when you can get off your car and walk on the road and still be faster than me. A sure way to boost your ego, I tell you.

Seeing the gap between my car and the one in front of us, my niece turned baffled eyes at me yesterday and said “Chithi (aunt), do you realize that there is enough gap here to fit an entire continent?” to which I smiled proudly and nodded. Unsure of the next move, she asked gingerly “How do you feel about stepping on the gas Chithi?”

I have a feeling that this particular moment will be etched in her memory forever. In fact, I bet she is lying in a bed somewhere this very minute wondering what bad karma put those words in her mouth that opened the floodgates of my unsolicited wisdom.