Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)

Old 28th May 2008, 04:34 PM

City: Madras
State: TN
Default Silly nothings

Many of us have some silly belief or rely upon some logic-less intusion. Like i have heard few of my friends telling that they will do their exams well if they wear a particular salwar.

Likewise my neighbourhood aunty used to complain that if she wears a particular saree she will cry on that day.

Some have some special ornaments to be worn on an auspicious day.

My grandfather used to take a very old shopping bag whenever he's out to purchase for some good functions, ceremony or marriage, reasoning out it is very lucky.

When i think about this, i understood even i have something which i havent thought much. Whenever i start to an exam or apply for a job or go for an interview i used to call my chithi (my mom's younger sister). Looks funny.

Do any of you have experienced so? Plz do share with us.
Old 28th May 2008, 04:47 PM

City: ****
State: ****
Default Re: Silly nothings

Hi Cindhuja,

Interesting topic ! Infact this was discussed in a tamil programme called "Neeya Naana" in Vijay tv sometime back.

Actually the topic was "people who believe in luck Vs people who don't "

But by the end of the programme, the people who were against..slowly joined the group who believed in luck.

Sorry to deviate the topic...what I wanted to convey was..most of us have some favorite thing like a dress/picture/person/God who we feel will bring us good luck or make our day better. Some don't like to call it by the name "Luck" .

Of course we do believe in ourselves and do our best in everything, but for that extra feel good factor, we do tend to hold on to something.

For me, before I go out, I always pray and prostrate before God. I always have a picture of Shirdi Baba in my car and purse.

Whenever I buy something new, I keep it in the Pooja place for a little while.

I don't know what name to call these actions..but pretty much I try to follow it.

Krithika
Old 28th May 2008, 11:22 PM

City: Kulalumpur
State: Kulalumpur

Dear Cindhu....

Intresting topic to discuss.... I dont have faith in LUCK dear.. and also is my husband.... I pray god.. whenever I go out ..and have my Melmaruvathur Aadhiparasakthi photo in my handbag always... Apart form that.. i dont belive in lucky bags,lucky dresses.... etc....

But many intresting things happened in my college hostel.. many of my friends.. have certain color dresses for exams.... they wear only those color dress and attend exam.. and also .. the list goes from pen.. to calculators.... but i think its their own beleifs.. so we should not hurt in any sense because we dont have faith in that....

Brindha...
Old 29th May 2008, 12:46 AM

City: Manama
State: Bahrain

Hi Cindhuja,

Very different and interesting topic. I remember wearing a pink and green cotton salwar for my first job interview. To my surprise i got selected in the final round. Tried wearing the salwar for different occassions to justify myself that this dress was lucky for me and I was successful in whatever i did. It was a belief at that point of time.

At present, I stand in front of shirdi sai, pray for a few moments and only then step out . Right now my son is getting into the habit of saying "Bye"" to Sai Baba whenever he steps out.

Originally Posted by Cindhuja View Post

Many of us have some silly belief or rely upon some logic-less intusion. Like i have heard few of my friends telling that they will do their exams well if they wear a particular salwar.

Likewise my neighbourhood aunty used to complain that if she wears a particular saree she will cry on that day.

Some have some special ornaments to be worn on an auspicious day.

My grandfather used to take a very old shopping bag whenever he's out to purchase for some good functions, ceremony or marriage, reasoning out it is very lucky.

When i think about this, i understood even i have something which i havent thought much. Whenever i start to an exam or apply for a job or go for an interview i used to call my chithi (my mom's younger sister). Looks funny.

Do any of you have experienced so? Plz do share with us.
Old 29th May 2008, 10:16 AM

hi brindha,

Nice to c responses from you all. Even i didnt mean to hurt anyone. Just thought this will be a nice topic to discuss. Infact i too have some silly nothings in my life, though i dont want to name it as Luck :) .Anyways letz c what comes from other.Take care. Have a nice day.
Old 29th May 2008, 11:09 AM
Blog Reviewer

City: Rockville
State: Maryland

Hi Cindu,
Like most, I have some beleif in these things also......When I was in college, I felt that when I wear whites during exams, I did well compared to other papers.....but slowly, I managed to overcome this fear.....I would better say its a kind of fear in our psych and nothing else......
Yes, till now I used to bow down in front of god but stopped following all nuisance I used to follow when I was young.........
Old 29th May 2008, 11:17 AM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka

dear cindhuja,

i too have such beliefs.Before starting any work,we keep 1 re coin infront of ganesha and then only we start that work.Even when we go long distance travel, we keep the coin.
i have the habit of collecting the pictures of gods of diff temples.I paste them in a note book.i carry that notebook for long distance travel.

It may sound silly.But i gives me more energy and directs me wherever i go.

My jewellery
Old 29th May 2008, 11:37 AM

City: Katy
State: TX
Smile Re: Silly nothings

hi Cindu,

This is very silly... But I look out for birds. Mynas!! Or any birds if I dont see mynas!! One for joy, two for sorrow, three for a letter and four for a kiss .. !!

If i see a couple of them, i believe my work will get done correctly. If I am starting something and see one, I'll think that job will not completed as intended. Dumb, isn't it!!

Sharada
Old 29th May 2008, 11:45 AM

Hi Sharadha,

So sweet of you. It reminds me about my brother. Have you heard about "andan kakka", one variety of crow. If you see that it is believed that your plan for the day will not work out. If at all my brother comes across it, he would call me and make me look at it too, so that even i face a bad day :), and make fun out of me. Those were in my childhood days :) .
Old 29th May 2008, 11:53 AM

City: Bay area
State: CA

hi friends,

I always keep long bindi because it suits me very well. Sometimes i try to put round bindi even tho small ive noticed that my day will go bad.

SO dumbest belief that made me not to put round bindi till date.