| |||||||||||||||||
| |||
| Childbirth Today my youngest brother turned 45, born 30th April 1963 in Chembur,Mumbai.Nothing great in that , is there for me to write this blog.There are birthdays in everyone’s home.Today at lunch mom and brother bhabhi,Harsha and sita were sitting and eating,and Mom was remnising of how Hiroo my brother was born, and about all of us. The nursing home was about a km away from home.I was 10 then, and was with Mom and Dad in the NH.Mom felt the pains, and told me to run and get the holy book “Sukhmani” from home.I ran as fast as my legs could carry me, and by the time I was back,Mom was taken away, and brother was born. The hospital Bill was 250/- then.Then Mom described when I was born in Kalyan, the delivery was at home.A Dai was called,and delivery done at home.She asked for 80 bucks, and we did not have that much to give, so Mom gave her an imported used Blanket in Lieu.So that’s how the great Kamalji was born, with no Spoon in his mouth,Silver or Wooden.I think I winked at the Dai,buti am not sure, so many years have passed !And just imagine she must have seen me in that natural state ! So Mom was going on about what a mischevious brat I was.According to her, but I think memory must be failing her,I used to love being a nudist at age 3 or 4,and would run out of the house, and climb the windows of the opposite house,and standing at her windows, pee straight into the neighbour’s room.It seems she had a pretty daughter, also my age,and this lady used to come and fight with mom,saying your son Kamal is eyeing my daughter.Swear friends,at that young tender age, how could such thoughts ever enter my mind.But some people are jealous of the good looks of Kamalji.Shame on them.Was’nt I looking good in the Wedding Pics of mine ! I would like to meet that female now My maid’s who used to work for me, their Bhabhi had a kid.It was a Sunday round 6/7 years back, I had come back from playing cards, and had just poured my drink, when the maids came running saying Bhabhi is having labour pains,soplease take us to the maternity home,Since they are Govt employees they have their own allotted MH. We went there, in the heart of the city, an old building,Dark absolutely just a bulb burning.An old lady came out,and took the pregnant lady inside.I too went in, and there were 6 or 7 ladies and gents working there, all reeking of alcholol, shivers ran down my spine.The old lady came and told me, please get me the following – One Blade,one packet of milk, and a bar of soap, which I got immediately. I read the name of the place.It was dark and what I read, filled me with fear.It was named in Hindi “ Mirtyu Shishu” which means “ Dead Children”.I shat bricks, but these people said it is fine and we too have been delivered here.Fine I said.I called the old man in charge, and told him, listen take this 100/- and be nice to them, they are very close to me.He refused, saying this is my duty, and u can give me this or more if it is a boy,Sir u go home and take it easy. It must have been around Well went in the morning, and they let her off, and when I offered them money, they refused saying, no Sir, and it is a girl anyway.Then I happened to glance at the signboard, and it read “ Matra Shishu, meaning, Mother and Child.No wonder my Hindi is so bad.The total cost of delivery was around a 100 bucks, and compare it with the rich people these days. These days it is the time for designer deliveries, with the mother to be consulting the gynacs all around the year, sonography,Top of the line deliveries, and mainly Ceasarian operations.Where have all the normal deliveries gone.I don’t know , but a bill of 40 to 50,000 is nothing great these days for a delivery. The strange part is, in the nursing home or hospital , the room rent decides the delivery charges.If u stay in a deluxe AC room, the charges are higher.All the operations are done in the same theatre, but u are charged by how much u have.Isnt it the case like a Tyre puncture, where u should be charged for the puncture say 20 bucks, be it a Van or a Merc, or a BMW.But u are charged by what u drive or what room u took.I don’t agree with this theory, but well. And did someone tell me that u have to book a school for the kid even when he or she is still in the womb ?I don’t think its true.What do u guys and gals think,I don’t know much, because I havnt had a kid lately,and kind of rusted in that department. KAMAL MAHTANI |
| ||||
| Dear Kamalji, Wish you brother a very Happy b'day. Glad to know he was born in Chembur, thats my hometown! About your oh so innocent meeting with the dai ma errrr.... what so I say Kamalji except typically you. Well what made your neighbour think that you were in love with her daughter I wonder. Maybe theres more to it that meets the eye . I shall pray for a speedy rendevous with her again soon , it would be a cute meeting with all four of you, You and Harshaji, She and her Hubby . Oh or maybe it would be around ten or tewlve of fifteen if you count the accompanying children and grandchildren God that was a serious mistake reading Matru Shishu as Mritu Shishu. Guess it wasnt do much the night as the er.. pegs. ThankGod for mornings that gets more visibility. But that was a very philanthropic approach to get her to the hospital and take care of the necessities. Kudos to you for that . You are very kind hearted. Yes the delivery charges are whopping costing a fortune these days .Infact there are people who delay getting the child till they have enough resources to get the Deluxe room for delivery, and sometimes wait so long that the biological clock says,' hey now I am retired!!' School admissions while at womb ,well yes I have heard some parents say that but I would want that and never thought about it such in fact if I had to wait a couple of years its ok rather than worry prenatally about it after all once in the world these studies are going to occupy them from 1 1/2 years till for the next 25 years atleast!! But one thing is for sure Kamalji if you need your tyre fixed or air filled you can get it done sooner if you go in your Honda city or BMW rather than a Maruti 800 or Fiat coz status symbol and money talks!! A great write up that I thoroughly enjoyed!! Regards, Devika
__________________ Have the SERENITY to accept the things you cannot change ,the COURAGE to change the things you can and the WISDOM to know the difference !!!! FINEST POST--- MARCH 2008 WINNER. |
| |||
| Quote:
Which part of Chembur u used to live? We lived at 11th road, then 4th Road.We moved from there to Worli early Seventies,studies at OLPS. Yes money does talk these days.Thats a good one about parents waiting to collect money to deliver in good nursing homes.Even today, one can call a Dai home, anmd in a few hundred Rupees have a delivery.No one is going to ask u in life where u were delivered.It is just the parents who will make it a talking point. Besides u, no one else has commented.That proves I Lits like crying Topics like Death, which had so many hits and comments, and nothing for this comedy.And u all were telling me to post someting humourous.HAHA. Thanks for yr first and superb comments.Regards.kamal |
| ||||
| Dear Kamal Belated wishes for your brother.. And somehow I managed to deduce how young you are too!! NOt going to reveal in public.. about the antics you decribed..not surprised to hear .. thats you alright.. and your MOM's memory is not failing tooo.. poor Mom and Harsha.. kudos to them for putting up with you (just kiddin!) keep blogin:) |
| ||||
| Hello Kamalhji, Belated wishes to your brother. It made me to remember my MIL's story about how she delivered my husband and how she keeps repeating the story everytime to get any things. I agree, now a days, delivery has become very expensive. Recently while I was in Bangalore, I visited Manipal's hospital and they had mentioned the different packages for delivery and well child rooms.. it was touching more than a lakh for one c-section. Regards. Last edited by puni88; 1st May 2008 at 02:31 PM. |
| ||||
| Dear Kamalji, I lived near Ambedkar Garden ,close to station. Studied at St. Anthony's. Devika Quote:
__________________ Have the SERENITY to accept the things you cannot change ,the COURAGE to change the things you can and the WISDOM to know the difference !!!! FINEST POST--- MARCH 2008 WINNER. |
| |||
| A big hello to u kamalji and devika...felt happy to know u both are from chembur...I too was staying near gandhi maidhan...so sad to know that recently our 2 floor bldg was broken down and a ten storey has come up there..of course so many of our friends still there got a better deal in this process and am very happy for them...schooling I passed out from Afac...... coming to your post...very hilarious kamalji...yes i am sure u winked at the dAi...and what a naughty boy u must have been to go and pee at your neighbours house...and yes money speaks everywhere...whether at the maternity home or the car mechanic..a fact of life we have to accept...enjoyed your post and best wishes to your brother...what better way to celebrate his birthday than with the family.. |
| |||
| Quote:
Dear Meeta, that was a good one eh ! People forget to comment.HAHA. Even today in villages Midwives do the deliveries, and the kids are fine.I am not suggesting that for today;s ladies, but why go in for expensive hospitals, when the same can be done in a nearby nursing home at a reasonable cost. And in USA U pay 14000 dollors.Wow.I am amazed.I am out of touch with reality.Thank God my time things were cheap and uncomplicated. Well my Hindi is poor,even my wife corrected me then, and siad it must be mother and child, which i saw next day.I hope the guys dont sue me.HAHA. Regards.kamal |
![]() ![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |