Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)

Old 15th March 2008, 08:57 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

City: Navi Mumbai
State: Maharashtra
Default Re: Hilarious Incidents of the Day - Write in Friends

Oh!! Vivbass, your post refreshed one of my Dussera experience. Your MIL sang in high pitch and it was the reverse case here.

My cousin bro got married and his wife my cousin SIL, claimed that she used to take singing classes prior marriage and is a known singer in her area. My Cousin Bro always kept praising her singing skills. She would constantly keep humming some raga and for a novice like me, I felt she is constantly rehearsing. The time of dawn had arrived. My mom was a good singer and she was the one dominating the singing arena. People would praise her for her singing abilities and this was not taken in a good sense by the newly arrived bride of the current generation. My bro asked her to sing and we all waited with baiting breath to hear the nightingale. A typical Dussera scene in Mumbai, loudspeaker noise, children dancing around, lots of chaos.. and my SIL started .. she sang.. sang.. my bro.. yelling in between "Superb", whilst others were very silent, he kept on encouraging her, my mother was constantly watching her, my SIL had her eyes gazed to the floor and she was singing.. yes still singing.. singing. Finally it ended.... Dear Friends, nobody understood what she sang. Her pitch was very low and she was actually very close to humming. Love is blind I had heard till that time.. it was proved on that day. We all rushed to the kitchen, to have a hearty laugh. . A high pitch of your MIL clashed with the lowest pitch of my SIL.. . Yes, later my mom sang in her usual path breaking voice and there was standing applause, except from my cousin bro and sil.

Old 18th March 2008, 11:40 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

As i was walking back home from the mall today, I could see a few young school lads hanging out on the parapet of the building on the way. As I about the walk past them, suddenly I could see a rainbow like arch of water coming from their end towards the foot-path. I stumbled and held myself from getting wet and felt dirty too. My fraction of a second repulsive action was caught be few young men sitting on the other side. I quickly looked at he school lads to know from where was that splurge of water coming from . I had mistaken them.. it was not from the where my dirty mind had reached . One of the lad had a 2mm micron bag filled with water. He had pierced a hole and was pressing it hard on passers by.. My gait had become more brisk to avoid further embarrassments.

Holi Hai!!!!
Old 18th March 2008, 11:54 AM

State: tamilnadu

dear sriniketan,

that kau was really good...............so i have found a new word in english.......................

padma
Old 19th March 2008, 08:33 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Forum Moderator

City: Charleston
State: West Virginia

Hi Mals,
True how do you we know the source of water anyway! These small funny incidents make life enjoyable....

Thanks Padma, we coin new words, in due course, isn't it!

Last week my son was asking me what it would be like 'expressionless'.
As i am famous for being 'expressionless' otherwise called 'parabrahmam' in my younger days, i was simply looking at him, without any expression or emotion and after that i told him this is how 'expressionless look' will be.
But he answered 'Mom, you are mad, in other words 'angry'.
We all burst into laughter, do you think you can have expressionless face after that!

Sriniketan
Old 19th March 2008, 09:59 AM

State: TN

Dear Mals,
This thread is becuming toooooo hillarious...Okay, one funny incident from my side too..On March 13th, we went to attend the b'day party of my niece.She was dressed beautifully and was looking a cutie pie.She turned 2 on that day.My Bro and SIL was standing near her and after the cake cutting was over, all the guests were ready to give the kid their gifts.As one by one came, my SIL prompted her to say "thankyou" as she received her gift packs...She did it so dutifully..and after 2-3 people came, dunno what struck her she got the gift from one of our relative and said thankyou along with a bye........We all burst into laughter.....Seeing that she felt soo happy and started to clap her hands for the good job done!!!It was so spontaneous...My SIL was little embarrased and she told that relative to kindly have the dinner and then leave..
Old 19th March 2008, 11:58 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

Dear Dear Sri,

Your son is a real bundle of joy and keeps not only you all in the family but the family of IL also in splits of laughter..
How expressionless is expressionless? Don't tell me I am...
Old 19th March 2008, 11:59 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

Dear Aishu.

Please accept my belated wishes for your niece. Thank you and Bye.. So chweet from the little one and definitely an embarrassing one for her mother. I liked the ways she clapped for it.. he he..

Aishu, your family has a riot of laughter everyday I am sure.
Old 19th March 2008, 04:51 PM

City: Dublin
State: Ohio

A very nice thread.....
Reading all the posts , I coudnt control my laughter...I was am

Here's from my side..

This happened few years ago...I worked as lecturer in an engg college. That college was telugu minority one and majority of the students are from andhra.I dont know Telugu and some students being from Telugu medium hardly understands English.
Asusual i went to class, as that day was the last day for the submission of semester application form, I told to the student(still i remember his name ), Vijay krishna,,,,you havent submitted your application form for semester exams, and today is the last date.So please fill it and submit to me before evening.......He was replying me ok mam, ok mam, yes mam, yes mam and sat in his place.
Then i turned to the board to start that day's topic.Suddenly I heard a laughter behind me.I turned and asked the student what has happened, why were you laughing?? One student next to him replied in between his laughter ....mam, Vijay krishna was asking me.. "what madam was telling to me... "
Hearing this the whole class burst into laughter...
And me ....oh i dont know where to keep my face.. I was like Poor fellow...coudnt understand my english...
Old 19th March 2008, 10:22 PM

City: Melbourne
State: Victoria

i pity you ma'am....
after all the "yes ma'ams and ok ma'ams"....you had wasted your breath telling him what to do when he did not even understand an iota of it...
good for laughs though...
thanks for sharing...

maya
Old 20th March 2008, 02:55 AM
IL Hall Of Fame

Dear Vasera,

Yes Mam, Yes Mam, was nice to hear from a person who cannot understand English..

The class must have enjoyed the scene for sure... The teachers reaction is already felt through the smilie.. ().

Welcome to the world of laughter.. Keep posting such hilarious threads and bring smile on everyone's face.