1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

My journey

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by cotton, Sep 6, 2012.

1. cotton

cotton Senior IL'ite

[JUSTIFY]Frankly speaking I never knew what life is all about and even now, I am still learning. I had been this shy, sensitive, reserved, confused and introverted girl all my life until I felt that I had to change and learn to live on my own - emotionally. My intention was right but the way I reached it (to some extent only!) has been so traumatising for the hyper-sensitive me!

Initially I realised that I am way too emotionally dependent on my loved ones, be it family (although I took them for granted many times) or friends. I had a hard time getting over the fact that I can be no more with my dear friends because we moved back to hometown. I struggled to lead my life with new people, surroundings and school - not able to let go off my old friends and not able to get along with new people in the new place. Soon, I stopped trying and went with the flow during which more bonding with my family happened. I couldn’t imagine what would happen to me without them. This feeling started when I heard my friend’s mother expired. I was upset for days together. Then life caught on and the thoughts were soon buried inside my head. The next shock was my grandfather’s death. This was the first time I had seen death at close quarters, I was shaken badly. And, the buried thoughts surfaced again. At that time I was 17 (I lived in India then) and the only way to learn to live my life all by myself seemed to be going away from my family - for education. So, I decided I will study engineering and live in a hostel. That could be a starting point, I thought. Luckily, my family was willing to let me go.