| |||||||||||||||||
| |||
| An apt title for an apt article. You have put forth the plight of the oldies in such plain words. I wish that more of todays generation read this article and learn a lesson from it. Atleast, i am happy that i am surrounded with people who take care of their parents and siblings. But finance management...i just don't understand when they will take this seriously. Even after earning a neat 50K per month, they are broke by the 4th week of the month. The n number of EMI's, parties, drinking, smoking, eating out too often etc. Another fad i have noticed these days is using only brands. The school and college going kids go out for a walk and meet at CCD or Barista. The other day i had gone with my SIL to CCD as she had to meet her friend there. 3 coffee cost me Rs. 231/-. That was the first time i had been to CCD and i was aghast when i got the bill. I came home and was talking to my husband about it. All these kids who frequent these places...do they know what a criminal waste of money this is. If they visit orphanages they will know how other kids are living.Luckily, i've got my parents genes. We never knew whom they have helped and in what way. As kids we have even had meagre meals like just rice and pickles...coz there was someone out there who needed that money more than us. Today whatever we have is ours my husband and mine. We have worked really hard to get it...but luckily no credits or outstandings. And waiting for our parents to join us. They are all busy with their activities. But their blessings are always with us. I think i have deviated from the topic. Warm regards Roopa. |
| |||
| Hi Noorie, Great to see that this article has helped you take a wise decision. Seeing the current economy it is advisable to save as much as possible rather than spending recklessly as we don't know what is in store for us tomorrow. Roopa. Sorry Kamalji...replied in your thread here. |
| |||
| Dear Roopa, It is me who sould apologise to u, for not replying to yr FB for 8 months.Sorry somehow it skipped my mind, till Norrie revived it.Thanks Noorie. Yes, and with the latest I pod out, people are rushing in to buy, and every restaurant is full these days.But ask these people to pay back what they owe to people like me, which they have taken as intrest free loans, and u will hear sorry, I don’t have it now. But u have it for these fancy ganjets which will soon be outdated eh ! Thanks for yr great comments.Regards.kamal Quote:
|
| |||
| Dear Noorie, Don’t let me scare u.A little bit of credit even I use sometimes, but I pay it of at the earliest, so no harm there.But to get into the habit of borrowing, and then paying heavy interest is foolish. A few days back I read all the major Credit Cards, who used to charge 40% per annum interest on outstanding dues, have now raised it to 50% pa. Is anything worth that amount of interest ? Regards/kamal |
| |||
| Dear Kamalji Our older generation, our parents, acted with intuition. they knew that all the things that parishes should not be en massed. If we look at our young generations cupboards, all the tills are filled with the clothes they hardly would use once in a year. Even if they would go on buying. This applies to all of their purchasing habits. Where as our parents either purchased gold or land. That is the difference.
__________________ Navaljee Last edited by Navaljee; 28th August 2008 at 05:07 AM. |
| ||||
| Dear Kamalji Old is always gold. Our parents worked so hard and brought properties, but during that time too 5000 was a very big amount with that some land they are minting money. But today 50 lakhs is equal to that 5000 even when we are buying that piece of land, we need to think twice, what about our kids they will have to buy the same for 1 crores tomorrow. Whatever it is I think our parents were smarter then us. So today we know the value of money.
__________________ Love Aruna Don't compare your life to other's You have no idea what their journey is all about. |
| |||
| Quote:
Dear Navalji, I agree with u that what our parents scrounged and saved and bought was homes and gold, and what today’s generation buys is mostly lousy and perishable. I see unmarried boys and girls earning 30000 and avove, not saving anything, but just spending it all. This is the difference.Regards.kamal |
![]() ![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |