Go Back   IndusLadies > Good to Read / Write > Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)

Old 25th March 2008, 11:10 AM

State: Tamil Nadu
Default Re: Share your nose ring story here - Ettukkallu Besthri Potta...

Hai Sundari,

Mine is a different story.........as i myself want to pierce my nose..........because at that age i loved to wear Nose Ring..............can u guess when i did so??????????????? When i was studying in 6th standard......... so after 10 days...............in the night when v are sleeping (all my cousins).........one of my cousin she forcefully put her leg in my nose and it gone..................

and it happened that i have to remove the nose ring and allowed the wound to be settled down and then again went to the shop to pierce my nose................

All this happened in Tanjore when v all went for vacation...............(summer holidays)

now i am happily wearing a gold nose ring..................

My Creations;My Kid Drawing(2 new works)
Never postpone things till tomorrow that u can do today.
Old 25th March 2008, 12:51 PM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 26
Thumbs down Re: Share your nose ring story here - Ettukkallu Besthri Potta...

Originally Posted by ssubhasr View Post
My strory abt nose ring :

I pierced my nose only after my marriage.....I got married to a loving person on 1st December 2006. And I pierced the nose at the end of April'07.

Actually I wanted to do this before marriage itself. But unfortunately there was no time gap between my engagement and marriage date. My engagement was on 29th October & marriage on 1st december. We hardly had 4 weeks gap. We dont even had the time to meet or speak over phone...But leave all those - its a different story...how me &my hubby understood each other within the short span of time....

Due to time lack I din pierce my nose....Because people said as I was already 24yrs & its difficult to pierce the nose. The nose would have become soo hard and it will be very painful if u pierce and it takes longer period to settledown with the nose ring. And moreover, some people will catch cold & fever sometimes if they pierce etc....So I dont want to take risk at the time of my marriage & din do that before my marriage. And my in-laws also din say anything about that. But in our custom we have to wear nose ring at the time of marriage, so I wore a readymade one at the time of marriage.

After marriage also I was telling my husband that I want to pierce my nose and he was shocked and told me that it will be very painful. Moreover, he always use to tell me that I have got a very small nose and it will be difficult for the goldsmith to find a place to pierce.....He will be kidding my nose always....But still I wanted to do that.

Me, my mom, my husband & my MIL went for shopping in T-Nagar GRT. Suddenly I got the idea of piercing my nose. I told this to my mom and she bought a small stud from GRT and went to the Goldsmith there in GRT. My nose itself is very small, so it was difficult to find a stud to suit my nose. Finally we got it. Even that time also my husband was totally against this. But I said - Yes I want to do it immediately . We waited for more than an hour to pierce my nose.

Atlast - O.M.G! am done !!!! I was too happy that time...The goldsmith told me that my nose was very thin and it was very easy for him to pierce. And I also din feel any pain . only at the time when he started inserting the nose stud I felt some pain. He din even use any spray or medicine so that I dont feel any pain.

When I came out of the shop my husband told me that its too good to see me with nose stud. And my mom & MIL were also very happy. We went home after an hour of shopping. It was a real surprise for my dad & FIL. My dad was too happy because he always wanted me to pierce my nose. But i was denying at that time .

My MIL gave me her diamond nose stud to me when I went to Bangalore (we were in chennai due to my husband's job and my in-laws are in Bangalore) before coming to US. She asked me to wear it immediately and also wanted me to wear it always. But as its diamond i dont want to take risk....because while taking oil bath sometimes the oil might get into diamond and it lose its glitterring....Moreover it was big for my nose and wont suit when I wear Jeans & t-shirt or skirts...So I removed it and now am wearing gold stud with white stone......

Hope you ppl will enjoy my story...
wonderful subha,
u got it done and stood ur ground and the best thing is u enjoy, wish i had added request here for all to post a pic with their nose ring it would had been so nice, i used to tease my elder daughter as her nose is impertinent and after the nose ring it has become pertinent and she used to be behind me with a rolled paper...sunkan

Last edited by sunkan; 25th March 2008 at 12:52 PM.
Old 25th March 2008, 12:54 PM

Originally Posted by Honeytha View Post
Hai Sundari,

Mine is a different story.........as i myself want to pierce my nose..........because at that age i loved to wear Nose Ring..............can u guess when i did so??????????????? When i was studying in 6th standard......... so after 10 days...............in the night when v are sleeping (all my cousins).........one of my cousin she forcefully put her leg in my nose and it gone..................

and it happened that i have to remove the nose ring and allowed the wound to be settled down and then again went to the shop to pierce my nose................

All this happened in Tanjore when v all went for vacation...............(summer holidays)

now i am happily wearing a gold nose ring..................
when u want it in the double then u endorse it, in tamil they used to say nalla kuthi thaan irukku aduvum rendu vaati so chumma kadai vidadey adu pola u have done it twice...sunkan
Old 26th March 2008, 07:56 AM

City: Melbourne
State: Victoria
Wink Re: Share your nose ring story here - Ettukkallu Besthri Potta...

My o my, my nose piercing brings back terrible memories,

I had my ears pierced even above my earrings,but kept postponing my nose piercing.
During my engagement, there was a big debate about my nose not pierced. I diplomatically remained silent. Then few months passed my MIL was getting outraged that I had not yet pierced it.Then finally she said I have to get it pierced.

Then very reluctantly and after much cajoling that it would be painless , thanks to modern technology, I relented. The nose piercing was not so painful as such,but the goldsmith just pushed the nose ring stem into my nose in a wrong angle and it bleed so profusely that I was so angry with my MIL [and thought I should call my marriage off ] but" marriages are made in heaven". My sister would frown at me for giving in and my little niece would look pitiably at my swollen nose as if I were an alien.

I did grumble to my husband then whenever I met him but it didn't matter to him so much as he like it maybe ......

And before coming abroad ,my sisters once again talked me into changing my nose ring to a smaller one " they said you look like an a maami, so being the ever obliging me, I again gave in to their wishes. The removing of my old nose-ring [ which I dare not touch for the last 7 years] was again very funny, with my mum using a Pakkad, my loving sisters had brought me and cute one which I couldn't refuse.

The finale is the most interesting one,now I tried to tighten the screw of my precious new nose ring and instead I ended up unwinding it. I tried but could not put it back,not without my sisters' help and so...............

Now again I am without a nose ring. good for me ......
Old 26th March 2008, 09:56 AM

City: Pittsburgh
State: PA
Question Re: Share your nose ring story here - Ettukkallu Besthri Potta...

Originally Posted by sunkan View Post
wonderful subha,
u got it done and stood ur ground and the best thing is u enjoy, wish i had added request here for all to post a pic with their nose ring it would had been so nice, i used to tease my elder daughter as her nose is impertinent and after the nose ring it has become pertinent and she used to be behind me with a rolled paper...sunkan
Sunkan Ji

Thank you for the FB.

I too wished to post my picture...But dont have a one...But I have a photo which was took by the photograper on the day of my wedding (Not with the real nose stud). If you want I can post that.
Old 26th March 2008, 05:34 PM

Originally Posted by meera2503 View Post
My o my, my nose piercing brings back terrible memories,

I had my ears pierced even above my earrings,but kept postponing my nose piercing.
During my engagement, there was a big debate about my nose not pierced. I diplomatically remained silent. Then few months passed my MIL was getting outraged that I had not yet pierced it.Then finally she said I have to get it pierced.

Then very reluctantly and after much cajoling that it would be painless , thanks to modern technology, I relented. The nose piercing was not so painful as such,but the goldsmith just pushed the nose ring stem into my nose in a wrong angle and it bleed so profusely that I was so angry with my MIL [and thought I should call my marriage off ] but" marriages are made in heaven". My sister would frown at me for giving in and my little niece would look pitiably at my swollen nose as if I were an alien.

I did grumble to my husband then whenever I met him but it didn't matter to him so much as he like it maybe ......

And before coming abroad ,my sisters once again talked me into changing my nose ring to a smaller one " they said you look like an a maami, so being the ever obliging me, I again gave in to their wishes. The removing of my old nose-ring [ which I dare not touch for the last 7 years] was again very funny, with my mum using a Pakkad, my loving sisters had brought me and cute one which I couldn't refuse.

The finale is the most interesting one,now I tried to tighten the screw of my precious new nose ring and instead I ended up unwinding it. I tried but could not put it back,not without my sisters' help and so...............

Now again I am without a nose ring. good for me ......
ippadiyum oru version not bad at least u enjoy what u like, nice experience though, iam also in ur gang because i got it pierced when too young and had to remove it due to my convent school who had a no no for a nose ring and the dent is cute now after so many years..sunkan
Old 26th March 2008, 05:35 PM

Originally Posted by ssubhasr View Post
Sunkan Ji

Thank you for the FB.

I too wished to post my picture...But dont have a one...But I have a photo which was took by the photograper on the day of my wedding (Not with the real nose stud). If you want I can post that.
dear subha,
these days all cell are equipped with one camera why not an original shot and i am sure all here would love to see your beautiful nose with the ring here..sunkan
Old 27th March 2008, 08:26 PM

City: Melbourne
State: Victoria

hi sunkan ma'am and all members here,
having a nose ring is definitely something. like what you had said ma'am,it changes your features. i found that very true when i was comparing some of my old pictures that day with some of my recent ones. i could see why my mom was a bit too aprehensive with my nose piercing. the day i came home from my outing with the nose piercing, she looked at me and remarked that:
she had sent me off as a "little girl" and i had come home like a young lady, looking matured (though i must say that i am still quite immature at times). but thankfully, now she has accepted the nose piercing.

and to subha ma'am,
go ahead and post your picture with your nose piercing. not only i but all of us would definitely want to see it.

maya
Old 27th March 2008, 11:43 PM

Originally Posted by sunkan View Post
dear subha,
these days all cell are equipped with one camera why not an original shot and i am sure all here would love to see your beautiful nose with the ring here..sunkan
though i dont mind one wee bit of your pic old or new u will remain subha for us so go ahead...sorry forgot to mention this ..sunkan
Old 29th March 2008, 10:54 PM

City: Hyderabad
State: AndhraPradesh
Smile Re: Share your nose ring story here - Ettukkallu Besthri Potta...

Hi Sunkan!

It is a such a wonderful and hilarious thread! Enjoyed reading everybody's experiences....

Mine is similar to that of Vanaja's....where I got my right-nose pierced by a "thattan"; this was during my 10th holidays; I was not forced and did it on my own will --- my mother wears diamond nose-rings on both noses and diamond earrings ...so I wanted to do the same when I was young It might have caused quite a pain but the desire to get it pierced over-powered the pain, I guess

But lo.... I dont wear it now!!! Wondering why??? the story goes like this.... After piercing, I was wearing a gold one right thru the +2 & college and initial years of work till I got married! My hubby said that the 'nose-ring' is for 'patti's' and suggested that I wear them only when I became one....so promptly removed the same and the diamond nosering is sleeping in the locker now....

Hope one day I would re-pierce the same and adorn the same with a "sparkling" diamond....

Cheers!

Last edited by vase; 29th March 2008 at 10:54 PM.