1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

If I were you

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by ambika04, Apr 28, 2011.

1. ambika04

ambika04 Gold IL'ite

[JUSTIFY]I receive lot of unsolicited applications from job aspirants in a day. Being a HR Head it’s not something unusual to check each cover at the end of the day. One such application took me by surprise. In the hard copy cv its was written - Dear A, Im grandson of Mr.V…….I can never forget Mr.V all through my life.

A small rewind took me to the days when I applied for a job as soon as I finished my degree. I need to attend an interview in another district. My parents planned to send me to the nearest relative to stay. After reaching there I attended interview & thought to visit another relative my mom insisted to see. You know Mr.V, he is a double degree holder in those days, and he is tall & well built, now holding a senior position, related to me in this way. My mom kept saying what all she knows about Mr.V.

I was little hesitant to knock at the door of an unknown relative. I said to myself common you are grown up, you can search the house, talk to them & walk back. I cheered myself & found the address all alone. When I stepped inside Mr.V was sitting in a chair. All the description my mom gave suited him best. He raised his spectacles & saw me from top to toe.Im daughter of So & so …I started my conversation in a feeble voice.Ok for what have you come here? I came to seek job, I have completed my degree. Actually I went to attend interview & wanted to say 'My present position is to seek job' but I wrongly conveyed it. He too must have misunderstood that I have came to stay & seek job through him! Before I could correct myself he raised his voice & said 1 degree is not enough.