1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

In Search of Time

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by kkrish, Mar 26, 2011.

1. kkrish

kkrish IL Hall of Fame

Satchi’s post “…efficient multitasker...” reminded me of this incident. Multitasker I definitely was and am, but whether the operative word “efficient” applies to me or not is a matter of constant speculation!:confused2:

It happened many years ago when I was a co-op student. With two active young sons packaged with demands of their own and an already busy multi role of chauffer, cook, house cleaner, launderer, home-work teacher, nurse, nutritionist, last-minute-rush-to-store-poster-board-buyer, and so on…… I had now added the roles of student-with-my-own-home-work and part-time-office-worker too.

I lived and breathed to-do lists using every time management tool I could lay my hands on! I would write down everything I had to do. Then I would separate them into priorities! Problem was there would always be a minimum of three to four items that were No. 1 priority!!! :bang

I was stretching myself to the max getting up at five am and going to bed close to eleven pm. Actually this was how I was most days! :drowning .Despite all these listing and prioritizing I invariably ended up moving two or three “to-dos” to the next day! :crazy

During one of our weekend trips to the library while the boys were engrossed in their favorite sections I wandered over to …yep, you got that right … the time management shelf! I spotted a book titled, “How to add one hour everyday”! How many days I have desperately yearned for that 25th hour! Here it was: liberation within hands reach!

You may all wonder how I could find time to read with all the things I had listed above. Every night just before switching off the bedside light, read I must! That was my night cap! I had a fixed schedule too. On Friday and Saturday nights I would read story books or light magazines.