| |||||||||||||||||
| |||
| Hi Members Ladies i require your guidance .I will shortly be reaching Dubai infact the end of next month.I need your assistance to know what are the things that i can get to set up my house there?.In terms of indian (esp south indian groceries),Appliances ,etc .Are they cheap or do you advise me to get all the mandatory vessels like cooker, kadai , karandi's etc from India .How about mixies and the wet grinder ?.. Ne idea can i carry homemade Sambar, mogapodi , lpowder kya?... Also i require assistance to know which is the best place to search a rent around in Dubai .My husband has to work in Jebel -Ali..Will abu -dhabi be ideal or sharjah or somewhere in dubai itself ?.Please advice Are there indian store out there?..Like i keep doing the vaibhav laxmi poojai .Can i continue to do the same there?Are there restrictions on followring your religious pattern?.Do i get Fresh flowers like in india?How about kumkum and haldi packs?.. Can i carry those pooja items with me like sambrani, dhoop , thiri etc?.. I may appear stupid questioning these Abs know nothing about things .This is my first trip abroad too after many years been to bangkok when i was a child.. Whats the general weight allowed?.. travelling from mimbai by emirates. Please let me know.. Also i wish to make friends out there please advice Thanks |
| |||
| Quote:
Welcome to the DREAM LAND !!!! Coming to your queries, you get all the items mentioned on your message here, you could visit "LULU SUPER MARKET" where you could get the said items, reg pooja items you could get the same near the Krishna Temple in BURDUBAI, you will get FRESH FLOWERS also...(your husband must be knowing), yes, the itmes will be costly (if you covert the cost from Dirhams to Indian rupees, but my friendly suggestion is DON'T DO THAT, you will become crazy), instead slowly learn to accept that you earn in Dirhams and hence spend in Dirhams (but most people love to earn in Dirahms but want to spend in Rupees and hence they crib a lot..) If you feel that initially you would not want to spend much money then try getting the big items from there (As youré travelling by Emirates the max weight allowed/ baggage is 20 kgs, + 7 kgs of Hand carry for one person, but i would suggest you to check again before you travel to re-cnfm the same with Emirates Airlines there). Yes, you can carry home made sambar powder, molagai podi etc and put the same in cargo along with your other baggages do not hand carry the same. (you get all the major ready made brands here also). You can do your Pooja here in your home, no restrictions at all.....you could either carry your pooja items with you or you could get it in the shops next tot the temple i mentioned ( as you are yet to search for a house i couldn't suggest you any nearby shops where you cold get all the items, hence suggested the common place). Reg your house it's upto your husband, and the budget which you have decided to spend for rent (RENTS ARE REALLY COSTLY IN UAE, Specially in Dubai). As your husband is working in Jebel ALi, Dubai would be the ideal place for him to commute, but there are people who come from sharjah as far as from Ajman, ras al -kaima (other emirates) to jebel ali for working, mainly bcoz of the rent in Dubai, if his office is in the farher side of Jebel ALi then AbuDhabi will also be ok, but he has to travel a lot (i won't suggest Abudhabi as it will be too tiring), but coming from Sharjah and other emirates will also be time consuming as there will be Heavy TRAFFIC always on the roads, hence he should start atleast 1-2 hrs well before his office time. Once you settle down in an apartment, go and introduce yourself (may be with chocolates and a big smle) to your neighbours, and i'm sure you will have lot of Indians living in your apartment also...so don't worry ...Since you are living in Mumbai you will not find much difference between DUBAI and Mumbai as DUBAI is yet another FASTER CITY than Mumbai, but the lifestyle is pretty same........THIS WILL BE YOUR SECOND HOME,YOU won't miss INDIA much expect for your relatives.......you will CERATINLY FEEL AT HOME!!!! (And you can consider me as your friend also, and i will try to help you in your queries as far as i can and as much as possible) |
| |||
| Hey Hi, I am seriously posting here as I can't understand where to start from this website.I am totally new to this webpage . I am currently in dubai. Married & working in dubai.Its me & my husband. Anyways good to find people from mumbai in Dubai as I too belong to mumbai & now in dubai. Wishing all the best. Preeti. |
| ||||
| Hi Preeti, Welcome to IL. Just go back and go to indian in Uae forum which is a sub thread with Indians in Dubai.There you can introduce yourself. Anyway's I am Babita,Have a 2 year old daughter,stay-at-mom,Live in Deira.In mumbai parents home in Dombivli. Where are you in Dubai?And where in mumbai?Where are you working? Sorry lot of questions....... Keep in touch. Babita Last edited by babita_sn; 6th August 2008 at 10:10 AM. |
![]() ![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |