Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai > Shopping & Restaurants

Old 2nd April 2008, 04:56 AM

State: tamilnadu
Default Re: Restaurants in Namma Madras

dear AnithaA,

sanjeevanam belongs to cholayil group, medimix soap.......................
food is 90% kerala and the 10% is others like tandoori, north indian, etc.,
less oil, less spices, highly nutritious...................i am sure it will never harm your stomach....................

padma
Old 2nd April 2008, 05:17 AM

State: Tamil Nadu

Dear Padmavathi,

Thank you for the extra info on Sanjeevanam. And I don't worry about "harming" my stomach! I eat anywhere from "kaiyendhi bhavans"(roadside stalls) to posh restaurants. :D And let me tell you something, I've tasted some of the best food at the roadside shops.

Anitha
Old 2nd April 2008, 05:22 AM

For all the vegetarians

Vysan had asked for a list of "purely" vegetarian restaurants. Here is a list of all those "purely" veg restaurants that have been mentioned in this thread. Am sorry, if I have left out any of the pure veg restaurants.
  • Sanjeevanam ,nungambakkam, near good shepherd convent
  • Little Italy, Nungambakkam
  • Balaji Bhavan, Pondy Bazar
  • Hot Chips, Pondy Bazar
  • Sangeetha, Adyar
  • Raj Bhavan, Purasaiwakam
  • Adayar Aanandha Bhavan - They serve tiffin and chaat
  • Mother's Kitchen, nanganallur
  • Kongunadu Rasam, Villivakkam
  • Gangotree near Stella Maris college - Sweets and Chaat
  • Ganges Restaurant at Nungambakkam
  • Komalas' Restaurant
  • Hotel Palimar at Nungambakkam
  • Hotel Mathura at Tarapore Towers, Mount Rd.
  • Muruga Idli shop branches at many areas
  • Sukh Sagar (Anna Nagar)
  • Bombay Alwa house opposite to Blue diamond
  • Mansukh... at purrasaiwalkkam
  • Mansukh's at Ramaswamy Street, T. Nagar
  • B.R. Matsya, T.Nagar
  • Matsya, Egmore
  • Rathna Cafe, Triplicane
  • Eden, Besant Nagar
  • Drive Inn Woodlands
  • Annalakshmi, Opposite LIC On Anna Salai
  • May flower restaurant in prince plaza egmore
  • Rangoli - of Saravana Bhavan
  • Cream Centre, Chamiers Road, RA Puram
If there are any more, please add to this. In the meanwhile, keep posting about restaurants you have visited.

Anitha

Last edited by AnithaA; 2nd April 2008 at 10:12 AM.
Old 2nd April 2008, 06:38 AM

State: tn

Thank u friends for those details of restaurants in chennai.
I too would like to recommend a restaurant "chozhayil sanjeevanam".(veg)
Here the meals they serve is very nutritious and also tell us the order in which we should consume the served item. It has two branches one at Nungambakkam and other at Adyar.

Old 2nd April 2008, 07:15 AM

City: Muscat
State: Muscat

Originally Posted by AnithaA View Post
Vysan,

Ok, I will call you as just "Vysan" if you will drop the "M'am".(Somehow addressing you as just "Veda" doesn't seem right to me!) There are a lot of "purely" vegetarian restaurants that have been mentioned in this thread. I will compile a list of those for you (and folks like you) soon.

Anitha
Dear Anitha,

Thanks, thanks.... (Twice - 1 from me & 2 from my DS)

Will wait for your list of hotels.... So that we can pamper ourselves with good food (?)... Hope Shanthi skips just this FB....hahahahaha...

Veda
Old 2nd April 2008, 07:36 AM

Dear Restaurant fame AnithaA,
Annalakshmi is on Mount Road and not in the locality you mentioned , T.Nagar so I have taken the liberty to give the correct location. Hope you don't mind me stepping into your exclusive thread.
Never make someone a priority in you life,
when you are only an option in theirs!!!!
Old 2nd April 2008, 10:06 AM

Parvathy,

This is the second mention of Sanjeevanam on the same day! The place must be really good! Thank you!

Anitha

Originally Posted by parvathyg View Post
Thank u friends for those details of restaurants in chennai.
I too would like to recommend a restaurant "chozhayil sanjeevanam".(veg)
Here the meals they serve is very nutritious and also tell us the order in which we should consume the served item. It has two branches one at Nungambakkam and other at Adyar.

Old 2nd April 2008, 10:07 AM

Vysan,

You and Sri are most welcome! I have put up the list(Jananikrithsan so kindly edited it) of 28 or so restaurants that are purely veggie. Ensoy!

Anitha

Originally Posted by Vysan View Post
Dear Anitha,

Thanks, thanks.... (Twice - 1 from me & 2 from my DS)

Will wait for your list of hotels.... So that we can pamper ourselves with good food (?)... Hope Shanthi skips just this FB....hahahahaha...

Veda
Old 2nd April 2008, 10:09 AM

Janani M'am,

Thank you for editing it! I just picked up the restaurants and their locations from the FBs in this thread. I have absolutely no idea of where Annalakshmi is! Thank you for enlightening this poor mortal!

Anitha

Originally Posted by Jananikrithsan View Post
Dear Restaurant fame AnithaA,
Annalakshmi is on Mount Road and not in the locality you mentioned , T.Nagar so I have taken the liberty to give the correct location. Hope you don't mind me stepping into your exclusive thread.
Old 2nd April 2008, 09:51 PM

Hai Anitha,

I am adding some more to ur list............if anybody wanted to add some more, continue the list, so that it will be easy for others to view and recollect..........so that their won't be any repetition or v won't miss them.......
  • Sanjeevanam ,nungambakkam, near good shepherd convent
  • Little Italy, Nungambakkam
  • Balaji Bhavan, Pondy Bazar
  • Hot Chips, Pondy Bazar
  • Sangeetha, Adyar
  • Raj Bhavan, Purasaiwakam
  • Adayar Aanandha Bhavan - They serve tiffin and chaat
  • Mother's Kitchen, nanganallur
  • Kongunadu Rasam, Villivakkam
  • Gangotree near Stella Maris college - Sweets and Chaat
  • Ganges Restaurant at Nungambakkam
  • Komalas' Restaurant
  • Hotel Palimar at Nungambakkam
  • Hotel Mathura at Tarapore Towers, Mount Rd.
  • Muruga Idli shop branches at many areas
  • Sukh Sagar (Anna Nagar)
  • Bombay Alwa house opposite to Blue diamond
  • Mansukh... at purrasaiwalkkam
  • Mansukh's at Ramaswamy Street, T. Nagar
  • B.R. Matsya, T.Nagar
  • Matsya, Egmore
  • Rathna Cafe, Triplicane
  • Eden, Besant Nagar
  • Drive Inn Woodlands
  • Annalakshmi, Opposite LIC On Anna Salai
  • May flower restaurant in prince plaza egmore
  • Rangoli - of Saravana Bhavan
  • Cream Centre, Chamiers Road, RA Puram
  • Hotel Ishwarya, GST Road (In between GRT Radisson and Trident Hotel)
  • Hotel Saravan Bhavan (Mostly in all areas of Chennai)
  • Hotel Apoorva Sangeetha (Mostly in all areas of Chennai)
  • Sri Balaji Bhavan at Pondy Bazzar
  • Geetha Cafe at Pondy Bazzar
Some of the bold ones are added to AnithaA 's list.............

My Creations;My Kid Drawing(2 new works)
Never postpone things till tomorrow that u can do today.