Sewing/Tailoring/Stitching : Salwar,Kameez,Chudidhar, Punjabi,Patiala Instructions

Discussion in 'Sewing & Stitching' started by sunkan, Aug 27, 2005.

1. saheli3

saheli3 Gold IL'ite

Re: Sewing/Tailoring/Stitching : Salwar,Kameez,Chudidhar, Punjabi,Patiala Instruction

Hi Saroj,

Welcome to IL.

Please search for Kowl Salwar in this thread, where I have posted the draft for Kowl (dhoti) salwar. There is also a draft for the patiala salwar in this thread.

Please go through the thread carefully.

Hope this is helpful.

2. vjbunny

vjbunny IL Hall of Fame

Re: Sewing/Tailoring/Stitching : Salwar,Kameez,Chudidhar, Punjabi,Patiala Instruction

Hi Saroj,
    Youcan find Youtube entry at
    YouTube - Dhoti Shalwar Technique

and at IL thread,
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/s...ng-stitching-salwar-kameez-15.html#post630179

Hope This helps.......Also please share your stitching experiences here

3. lovers

lovers Senior IL'ite

Re: Pattern for Salwar

good idea... should benefit the one who doesnt know stitching

4. gemofaperson

gemofaperson New IL'ite

Hey Guys,

I am new to sewing with just some basic knowledge...It would be of great help if one of u sisters would help me start up on how to sew a chudidhar top....I know the answers is somewhere in this thread...it is ju that everything is e verywhere n i am all confused.

Please do not feel that it is redendant and guide me on how to sew a Chudidhar top.

Thank You. :drowning

5. vjbunny

vjbunny IL Hall of Fame

6. sarojshivanand

sarojshivanand New IL'ite

helo mam,
    can i get the drafting and cutting instruction of chudidar with lots of pleats at the bottom
    please fullfill my need.
    thnk u so much

7. Oceangem

Oceangem New IL'ite

Re: Sewing/Tailoring/Stitching : Salwar - Kameez, Chudidhar, Punjabi Dress Instructio

Hello. I am trying to understand how to position and cut the kameez on a rectangular piece of fabric. What I mean is, with the help of a rectangular diagram could you kindly help me understand where exactly the body part and more importantly the full-length-sleeves will be positioned for drawing/cutting? I want to have some embroidery done on the fabric and need this info to plan the positioning.

8. zana

zana New IL'ite

Re: Sewing/Tailoring/Stitching : Drafting Armscye depth

Thank you for the great information you provided on this thread. I have been stitching for a while but have problems with the sleeves fitting into the armholes. I used your formula, adding 0.5" to the armhole to get the sleeve width but still have problems with the fit.

Kindly tell me what measurement you use for the across front at the chest is it 1/4 chest + 1" or 1.5" or that does not matter when you draft the sleeve.

Thanking for your help.
    shahzana

9. canreachus

canreachus Senior IL'ite

hi all,

I can very well stitch normal jeans top / kurta, but forgot the cutting for sleeveless one,

I might mark 1- 2 inch or so above in arms to not to make a deep cut , but i am not sure about it.... can anyone confirm this cutting or send me any link??

10. nirmalasri

nirmalasri New IL'ite

Hi canreachus,
    I think this will be helpful to you. If you want the webpage please refer
    CLASSIC JEANS « Weekend designer

:rotflNirmala sri

CLASSIC JEANS

Classic five pocket cool, with an always-in-style timeless wash denim and the most comfortable fit ever. It’s no wonder you reach for your made-to-measure jeans again and again.
    MEASUREMENTS
    Waist – measure narrowest part of torso at navel level.
    Seat – measure around fullest part of hips approximately 8″[20 cm] below the waist.
    Body Rise - measure drop from waistline to crotch level.
    Outseam – measure distance from waistline to floor.
    Bottom width – desired width of jean leg bottoms (minimum amount must allow for measurement of foot around the heel).
    PATTERN

Jean Template: Front
    Square both ways from 0.​
    0-1 = body rise minus width of waistband: square across.​
    0-2 = waist to seat minus waistband width; square across.​
    0-3 = outseam measurement; square across.​
    1-4 = half the distance of 1-3 minus 2″[5cm]; square across.​
    1-5 = 1/12 of seat measurement + 3/8″[1cm]; square up to 6 and 7.​
    6-8 = ¼ of seat measurement.​
    5-9 = 1/16 of seat measurement.​
    7-10 = 5/8″[1.5cm].​
    Join 10-6 and 6-9 with a curve touching a point 1 ¼”- 1 ½” [3.25-3.75cm] from 5.​
    10-11 = ¼ waist + ½”[1.25cm]​
    3-12 = ½ of bottom width minus 1/8″[0.5cm].​
    4-13 = the measurement 3-12 + ¾”[2cm].​
    Draw side seam 11,8,13,12; curve 8-11 out 1/8″[0.5 cm].​
    3-14 = ½ bottom width minus 1/8″[0.5cm].​
    4-14 = the measurement 3-14 + ¾”[2cm].​
    Draw inside leg seam 9, 15, 14. Curve in 9-15 by 1/8″[0.5cm]​
    Jean Template: Back
    5-16 = ¼ of distance 1-5; square up to 17 on hipline, 18 on the waistline.​
    16-19 = ½ of distance 16-18.​
    18-20 = ¾”[2cm].​
    20-21 = ¾”[2cm].​
    21-22 = ¼ of waist + 1″[2.5cm]. Join 21-22 to touch the line squared out from 0.​
    9-23 = ½ of distance 5-9 minus 1/8″[0.5cm].​
    23-24 = 1/8′[0.5cm].​
    Join 21-19 and 19-24 with a curve touching a point 1 ½”- 1 ¾”[4-4.5cm] from 16.
    17-25 = ¼ seat + 1/8″[0.5cm].​
    12-26 = 3/8″[1cm]​
    13-27 = 3/8″[1cm]​
    Draw side seam 22, 25, 27, 26. Curve out slightly at 25.​
    14-28 = 3/8″[1cm]​
    15-29 = 3/8″[1cm]​
    Draw inside leg seam 24,29,28; curve 24-29 in 3/8″[1cm].​
    21-30 = ½ of 21-22; square down from line 21-22. Construct a dart on the line, 1/2′”[1.25cm] wide.​
    [​IMG]To Complete Jean Front
    Trace off front section from template draft. Mark point 6.​
    Draw in curved pocket line 31-32 and pocket bag.​
    Cut off side piece along the line 31-32; add 1-3/8″[3.5cm] from 31-32.​
    Draw in fly piece shape to point 33 3/8″[1cm] below 6.​
    Fly piece width = 1 ½ – 1 ¾”[3.7-4.5cm] wide.​
    Trace off fly piece.​
    Trace off pocket bag along line 31-32.​
    To Complete Jean Back
    Trace off back section from template draft. Mark points 16, 17, 21, 22, 24 and 25.​
    Cut along hipline 17-25, open a wedge approx. 1 ½”[4cm] wide at 17.​
    (Note: for rounder behinds increase more if desired).​
    17-34 = 1/8″[0.5cm]; draw in new crotch seamfrom 21-24.​
    Draw in patch pocket design. (Note: opening must allow for width of hand).​
    21-35 = ¼ of distance 21-16.​
    22-36 = ¼ of distance 22-25.​
    Cut off yoke along line 35-36; close dart.​
    Curve the line 21-22 and 35-36.​
    Patch Pocket – trace off back pocket.​
    Waistband
    The jean waistband is cut with ease (1 ¼”[3 cm] larger than waist measurement to fit lower waist position).​
    37-38 = 2 x waistband width; square across.​
    38-39 = waist measurement + 1 ¼”[3cm]; square up.​
    39-40 = fly width; square up.​
    39-41 = ½ of distance 38-39; square up, label CB and CF. Mark foldline down center.​