Go Back   IndusLadies > Indusladies World > India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai > Schools

Home Register Forum Blogs Directory FAQ Mark Forums Read

Recent Threads
Go to first new post ILs around...
by kashvya
Last post by manjusures
Today 05:04 AM
359 Replies, 12,664 Views
Go to first new post Saree painting
by Vidu29
Last post by shikha
42 Replies, 402 Views
Go to first new post From GUNTUR
Last post by pallavi90
2 Replies, 24 Views
Go to first new post Which ache is better
Last post by monifa13
2 Replies, 12 Views
Go to first new post Experience with a baby...
by VidyaaJ
Last post by sumanr
Today 05:03 AM
4 Replies, 44 Views
Free classes on how to...
by sujaig
Last post by shikha
Today 05:02 AM
9 Replies, 90 Views
software
Last post by phanthach
Today 05:01 AM
0 Replies, 1 Views
ரசமான
Last post by Kamalji
Today 04:59 AM
5 Replies, 30 Views
pearls..would it suit...
Last post by kiranmadhu
Today 04:59 AM
2 Replies, 13 Views
Happy Birthday Chitvish
Last post by jananirbk
Today 04:58 AM
44 Replies, 210 Views
Current Poll
Are you getting logged out of the site frequently?
Yes - 20.83%
5 Votes
No - 79.17%
19 Votes
Total Votes: 24
You may not vote on this poll.

Old 17th February 2009, 02:43 PM

City: Dublin
State: Dublin
madhusri8576 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)
Default Re: Schools in chennai

I have 4 yr old daughter,We havent put her in creche/montessori yet here(dublin). But we r planning to go back to chennai by first week of april for good. Can anyone let me know the list of best schools in chennai.
I am willing to put her in don bosco/good shepard which is far from our residence though.i heard its very hard to get an admission in such schools,my concern is do they consider NRI's?
Also,pls let me know the formalities.I have to start from the scratch.
Quick response would be appreciated.

Thanks & Regards,
Madhu
Old 20th February 2009, 01:11 AM

City: [Mumbai]moved to Chennai recently
State: [Maharashtra]presently Tamil Nadu.
jsrivenkat Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Hello Chennaites,
I will be moving to chennai after a gap of 16 years!My daughter will be needing admission in Eleventh standard.She has been in Maharashtra board and giving her boards Next Month.What is the admission procedure,Application form details...

My parents stay in Mylapore and i prefer the details of schools till Adyar.it has to be CBSE/ICSE as she has Hindi and French in her secondary level.Venkat has already moved in and has no much knowledge of the schools.Appa is too senior to run around with out details.Hope to get some help in this regard.
Thanks so much to have a link pertaining to schools.
Old 20th February 2009, 01:23 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Private Message User
Forum Moderator

State: tamilnadu
Shanvy Reputation Level is 2 (Very Good Poster)

Jsri,

How is aparna preparing yaar.

Getting admission into the 11th is a bit tricky. most schools are fussy about giving admission in the 11th to the extent there was this school which denied admission to its own 10th student for want of better marks??(that most of them had above 80 is a different story..)

Hey buddy this is not to scare you, this is to tell you be prepared to put in a fight.

the safest bet would be try getting into Kendriya vidyalaya's which will definitely not say no for 11th. but it is cbse.

you have lot of state board schools.

After maharashtra board state board, state board should be more helpful. most of the schools will start placing ads in the papers. just ask your appa to check the local mylapore talk/adayar times and all. and you can pick the application from the schools.

Just when I think I have learned the way to live, life changes - Hugh Prather

Join me at Sanguine Squiggles to celebrate the woman of substance

Old 20th February 2009, 01:53 AM

Hello Shanvy,
You remembered me!thanks so much.I was pleasently shocked to see you remember Aparna too.....That is a Moderator and a Good friend.

Just spoke to appa.Form to kalalaya school has been submitted.spoke to him about JK school,adyar.They are giving out forms.Yes i want a Cbse icse......State will have Tamil?Thats alien to her.Worst come,i will be back in Mumbai for her junior college!how much of stress to go thru??!

Aparna had scored 79%in prelims.......About 92%is what is targeted.Lets see.She is doing her best....No help from my side but to be around in the house.I am sending a PM to you.Check it out later when done with Moderation.Bye and happy to meet you here.

Originally Posted by Shanvy View Post
Jsri,

How is aparna preparing yaar.

Getting admission into the 11th is a bit tricky. most schools are fussy about giving admission in the 11th to the extent there was this school which denied admission to its own 10th student for want of better marks??(that most of them had above 80 is a different story..)

Hey buddy this is not to scare you, this is to tell you be prepared to put in a fight.

the safest bet would be try getting into Kendriya vidyalaya's which will definitely not say no for 11th. but it is cbse.

you have lot of state board schools.

After maharashtra board state board, state board should be more helpful. most of the schools will start placing ads in the papers. just ask your appa to check the local mylapore talk/adayar times and all. and you can pick the application from the schools.

Last edited by jsrivenkat; 20th February 2009 at 02:18 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 20th February 2009, 04:04 AM

asha_karthik Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

shanthi...
AVM's site says they are affliated to cbse.. isn't that true? do u hv any more info?

Originally Posted by Shanvy View Post
Hi kanaka,

I am not sure, recently in feb end, my fil had called the arsha vidya mandir school and they told him they are not cbse. and are yet to get the affliation. so we checked the cbse website in the list of affliated schools, it is not there... otherwise the feedback about the school is good.

love,
shanthi.
Old 23rd February 2009, 02:36 AM

ramapriyah Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Hai!!

Arsha vidya mandir is affliated to CBSE and their first batch of Xth is appearing this year. The teaching is fantastic. The max strength in a class is 28. There are regular tests and no exams till the Vth. But to top it all, admission is very difficult. My older daughter is in AVM.

Rgds,
Priya
Old 23rd February 2009, 03:00 AM

Smile Re: Schools in chennai

Originally Posted by ramapriyah View Post
Hai!!

Arsha vidya mandir is affliated to CBSE and their first batch of Xth is appearing this year. The teaching is fantastic. The max strength in a class is 28. There are regular tests and no exams till the Vth. But to top it all, admission is very difficult. My older daughter is in AVM.

Rgds,
Priya
Hello priya,
Thanks for the information...but where is this school located?Any web links.Please give me the details.waiting for your reply.
Old 23rd February 2009, 03:20 AM

asha_karthik Reputation level is 1 (Good Poster)

thank you priya, for the info. what were the criteria when your older daughter got into AVM? do you mind describing the steps that u went thru? if in detail, abt the interview there? TIA.

jsri - here is the link to AVM's website
Old 23rd February 2009, 03:39 AM

Hello,

Thanks for the link.Theres no mention of frsh forms admissions for xith std?!any clue priya?
Old 24th February 2009, 04:52 AM

State: TN
sugan2008 Reputation Level is 0 (Yet to Receive Reputation)

Hi Praveena

HOw is Roots montessori in Thiruvanmiyur..I heard good feedback about the schooll ..do u have any idea abt this school ?

REgs
Suganthi