1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

My exams; ils visit; dhs cousins wedding at 1 time... how to manage

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by manisha036, Oct 1, 2014.

1. manisha036

manisha036 Senior IL'ite

Hello all
    Today morning my mil told my dh about the wedding of dhs cousin sisters. Wedding is on 1st feb. Now my dh wants both of us to go together. Ils wants to come with us after the wedding. MIL also said that the date is tentative (which is not for sure) and they can change it according to me... a very political approach.
    OK First issue: i have an important exam on 5th february(my ils know this ). If i clear i can apply for jobs or post grad.This is an initial and most important step. the exam is "very hard" to crack. I am studying with dedication and i am hopeful too.
    For this reason, I dont want to go for weddings-(2 sisters 2 marriages- on same date) sisters are distant relatives. So i clearly told my dh that i wont be able to attend weddings because of the exam.
    But he will go as he can not say no to his mom.
    Here my concern is -- I have never stayed alone after my wedding. I am not sure how i m gonna manage in those days. Also i will need emotional support and help.
    Second thing: My ils wants to visit us in that particular month:drowning. If i clear my exam(5th feb), i will have to give clinical exams which are most likely to be scheduled in the months of june , july. For those practical exams,i will need training(3 months) and peace of mind too. Ils are very desperate to come here. so there is no way i can postpone their trip.
    Here i want to tell you about my ils and their relationship with me.
    My mil(most insecure, jealous and influential lady who presents herself as a bechari mom) knows about my education and she opposes it indirectly. None of the females from my dhs side are working, i am the first one to b working. So another set of issuesshakehead