1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Confused about what to do next... Please help

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by CharmingGirl, Aug 28, 2014.

1. CharmingGirl

CharmingGirl Senior IL'ite

Dear friends,
    I have been a silent reader of this forum and have been admiring the suggestions, comments and advises given by all wonderful ladies here to those in need. Though there are so many discussions about in-laws' problems and mamma's boy DH problems, I thought of posting mine to get some specific advises and suggestions.

As like every other girl who steps into an arranged marriage, I too stepped in with all dreams and hopes. Ours is a late marriage and hence I was also ready to make few compromises to make my married life happy. I am a working professional. As mine was a late marriage, my dad just said "YES" to all the demands brought in by my would-be in-laws then i.e., demand for gold and silver, demand for bearing both the wedding and reception expenses in native and in Chennai.

The only assurance that we wanted was that I will not be stopped from my job after marriage. When my mom brought that point during our meeting with the groom's family, my FIL said "It will be their decision". So we thought that my ILs are broad-minded to not interfere in these things.