1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

An unhappy Husband !!!

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by bfullerene, Jun 29, 2014.

1. bfullerene

bfullerene New IL'ite

Hello everyone - This is my first post and I also have to say that I am a husband simply writing to gain a female perspective since I found that this website is frequented by female visitors.

My wife and I are both Indians raised in New Delhi. We have been married for 15 years and have 2 children - boy aged 9 and a girl aged 7. We have been living in the UK since 1999.

About 12 years ago, my father passed away and 5 years ago, so did my mother. Currently, both of us work full-time. I have a PhD and my wife has a Masters degree. As our children started growing into their fives/sixes my in-laws decided to move in with us. Its a great support system in that my kids have loving grandparents to come home to from school when both my wife and I are at work. I profoundly thank my in-laws for the help and care they deliver to our kids.

Now here's the problem - I consider my mother-in-law (MIL) to be extremely arrogant and interfering. My wife is a sweet woman who continues to amaze me with a full-time job and always on top of the schedule with my kids school work and also taking the time to spend bike, play, swim, etc, with them. I also try to spend as much time with our kids. Our weekends are very kid-focused and in the process we have no friends or hardly ever socialize.

I never got along with my mother-in-law from day 1 of our marriage. Here are some incidents why-

1. On day 2 of our marriage, she tells me that my job is not very well-paying and that I should pursue a degree in Computer Science. I was 30 at the time, and was appalled I am getting advice from her. She hardly knew me. Even my dad gave me the freedom to choose my career.