1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Mother-in-law Issue

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by marriednworking, May 31, 2012.

1. marriednworking

marriednworking New IL'ite

Hi ladies,
    This is my first post on this website and I was going through some posts by other women here and the replies were amazing, so I could use some help as well.
    Here goes, I'm 25, got married in 2010. I'm a practicing lawyer and so is my husband. It was a love marriage and I stay with my in-laws. The FIL I have to say, was quite supportive. But sadly, my MIL is just always dissatisfied with whatever i do. I work 12 hours a day. We have a cook, a maid for practically every job and frankly i don't even enjoy cooking. However, I don't mind minimalistic cooking. The problem is that my MIL wants perfection in every god damned thing. I clean the sofas, wash bedsheets (we work with a semi-automatic machine coz that cleans clothes the best). Look after the maids whenever possible. But the complaints don't end. My SIL though married, comes home every day for dinner. Though i don't have to cook everyday, and for that matter she doesn't interefere in our fights...I get so bugged because even I don't go home that often (my parents live in the same city). I can't wear the same clothes as my SIL. I stopped wearing trousers to work, I go in suits, and the in laws never go out of town. I'm just becoming more and more frustrated everyday. Is it wrong for me to want to move out? Just for the sake of independence? I've stayed in a hostel for 5 years and am quite used to taking my own decisions. And now I have to be answerable to my MIL as to where i am going etc. Please help me out.

2. mommybird

mommybird Gold IL'ite

Toss the option to your husband that you would like to live alone for some time. You wanting your independence is not wrong at all. Better to stay away and be friendly than stay together and keep fighting.

1 person likes this.