1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Need advice...Please help

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by andysmum, Apr 8, 2011.

1. andysmum

andysmum New IL'ite

Dear ILites....
    i am new to IL... reading the forums on this site it is sooo nice to know that there are so many women out there to help each other. Good Job ladies !!!

seeing all the wonderful advice i couldnt resist posting mine too....

we are three sisters, me the youngest.... my mum lives alone in the same city as me. both my older sisters are married abroad. i feel very guilty to see my mother all by herself.
    i have tried to persuade DH to stay with mum but he is not interested.... though he wants to take care of my mother ...

My mother doesnt want to move with us as my in-laws stay with me...
    i live with my MIL and husband's brother. he has the big responsibility of his brother's marriage .

I suggested that we stay closer to my mother's house so i can visit her whenever i can ....that way my mum will feel secure. but my MIL and BIL do not want to shift as it would be far to BIL and DH's office....

i am clueless as to what to do.... Please advice as to how to persuade my in-laws to move closer to my mum's house.

Regards
    andysmum

2. armummy

armummy Platinum IL'ite

Why not shift your Mum to a near by place you live ?

3. DNM

DNM Silver IL'ite

I am with arsmummy on that? It would be a lot easier to move one person than a whole family. Also, has your mom indicated that she is feeling lonely and wants to live with one of her children? Does she have friends and activities of her own? Is she financially independent?

Have you thought about setting her up in one of those senior citizen homes where she can be independent, mobile and travel etc. exactly as if she were in her own home except she is living in a colony of similar aged and possibly people with similar interests...