How to do Sashti Viratham(soorasamharam viratham)

Discussion in 'Pujas Prayers & Slokas' started by lat13, Nov 12, 2012.

1. lat13

lat13 Senior IL'ite

kindly tell me how to do.. when it starts, what is the purpose of it....
    help me
    things to be done and tell me which things should not be done during viratham

Last edited: Nov 12, 2012

2. blessbabydust

blessbabydust IL Hall of Fame

Shasti virtam is done every month but this month (soorasamharam viratham) is a special one because 6 days you will doing special pooja for murugan starting from 14th till 19th Nov 2012 .

1. Take bath and clean the pooja room
    2. Place manjal and kumkum and flowers to god
    3. You read verkukazhai and shasti kavasam desired number of times (minimum atleast once ) .
    4. Place any food for offering to murugan .
    5. You can eat your offering and distribute to others

This fast can be done with semi fasting or fasting its upto your convience . As God only asks devotion not suffering from his devotee.

Good luck

3. Muthuraji

Muthuraji IL Hall of Fame

Thank you for sharing the information.

4. Muthuraji

Muthuraji IL Hall of Fame

Please someone help me. This year when is the Sashti Viratham coming and on which date we should keep fasting and do poojas for murugar at home.