Go Back   IndusLadies > Family and Relationship > Religion & Spirituality > Pujas Prayers & Slokas

Old 25th April 2008, 01:34 PM

State: Tamilnadu
Smile Vazhvu AnavaL(ragukala Ashtakam) Lyrics

Hi guys,

I am doing ragukala pooja every tuesdays and fridays.. My mom also said to read ragukala ashtakam. But i dont have the lyrics..

Can anyone pls provide with the lyrics? It would be of great help..

Thanks in advanc

Rupi

Old 25th April 2008, 01:39 PM

City: Dallas
State: Texas
Default Re: Vazhvu AnavaL(ragukala Ashtakam) Lyrics

Dear Rupi,
Raaghu Kaala Ashtakam song is already posted in IL.. Please see the link.

Exclusive tamil shlokas

Priya
Originally Posted by Rupi View Post
Hi guys,

I am doing ragukala pooja every tuesdays and fridays.. My mom also said to read ragukala ashtakam. But i dont have the lyrics..

Can anyone pls provide with the lyrics? It would be of great help..

Thanks in advanc

Rupi
Old 25th April 2008, 03:15 PM

Smile Re: Vazhvu AnavaL(ragukala Ashtakam) Lyrics

hey prishen,

Thanks a lot ma... That was quite a quick reply..

Thanks once again... :)
Old 8th May 2008, 03:09 PM

City: Phoenix
State: Arizona
Default Kya Aap pooja-path karte hai?

This is the thread to share some poojan procedure so that whatever best we can follow.
After finishing morning routine and bath me and my husband do pooja.All through this we recite our Gayatri mantras.

Gayatri Mantra
OM, Bhu, Bhuvah, Swah,
Tat Savituh Varenyam,
Bhargo Devasya Dhi Mahih,
Dhiyo Yona Pracho Dayat.

ॐ भूर्भुवः स्वः ।
तत् सवितुर्वरेण्यं ।
भर्गो देवस्य धीमहि ।
धियो यो नः प्रचोदयात् ॥
Summary of the Gayatri Mantra

Gayatri Mantra (the mother of the vedas), the foremost mantra in hinduism and hindu beliefs, inspires wisdom. Its meaning is that "May the Almighty God illuminate our intellect to lead us along the righteous path". The mantra is also a prayer to the "giver of light and life" - the sun (savitur).
Oh God! Thou art the Giver of Life,
Remover of pain and sorrow,
The Bestower of happiness,
Oh! Creator of the Universe,
May we receive thy supreme sin-destroying light,
May Thou guide our intellect in the right direction

Another wishes universal well being:

Sarve Santu Sukhina, Sarve Santu Naramaya;
Sarve Bhadrani Pashyantu, Ma Kaschidduhkha Bhaga Bhavet.

May all be happy, may all be without fear,
May all see auspicious only, may no body be distressed.

Maha Mantra

Hare Rama Hare Rama, Rama Rama Hare Hare;
Hare Krishna Hare Krishna Krishna Krishna Hare Hare

My Lord, Rama! My Lord, Krishna!

It is a glorified form of address for calling upon God. Rama and Krishna were two of the best-known and most beloved incarnations of Vishnu. They took human birth on this earth to lead mankind to eternal salvation. This is the Maha Mantra, the easiest and surest way for attaining God Realization in this present age.
Victory to Rama

Sri Rama Rameti Rameti, Rame Rame Manorame;
Sahasrenama tattulyam, Rama Nama Varanane

All these sacred names of Rama are equal to the highest name of God
This Mantra cures gossiping and back- biting and makes up for time lost in idle chitchat.

After all this worship, we do our breakfast. By doing all this the day is made, the mind is aligned with good, and people will carry out their normal worldly duties. Some people will repeat the procedure the evening.

Apart from above all my parents have their own corner in the house, where they have the idols and pictures of Gods they pray to. They do bathe the idols and clean the pictures. Then they garland or annoint the idols with 'tilak', offer prasada (some sweet), and recite whatever prayer they like.They usually do Ganesh ji ki aarti.
The puja is conducted in a way as you would welcome a honored guest (in this case he deity as if He is physically present, it is a method of concentration of all thoughts to the prayer). At the end of the prayer, blessings are sought and consecreted prasada is eaten.
I hope what I have written is useful to you. All of you are welcome to share your poojan and its significance.

Old 8th May 2008, 09:37 PM

City: Chicago
State: IL
Default Do's and Don'ts???

Hello all,
After you finish pradhakshanams in a Vishnu temple, apparently, you should not sit down. A very pleased Vishnu sends Lakshmi with you and you'd want to bring her to your home asap.

Whereas in a Shiva temple, the bhoota ganams follow you and you should sit down to distract them and come home alone.

Most importantly, never do namaskarams to Shani. He will be so mighty pleased that at last someone is nice to him and will come and hang out with you forever.

When I heard the above recently, I was quite amused. Is there any truth to this? I always sit in any temple atleast for a second before leaving...

Thanks and take care
Bee

Last edited by bhagirathi; 8th May 2008 at 09:38 PM.
Old 9th May 2008, 01:05 AM

City: KL
State: Selangor
Default Re: Shlokas

Hi Chithra madam,

i would like to request for a shlokam ..Im not sure if this is the one.the sholaka you have already posted which is " girl to get married ".

I have a problem with my horoscope matching with my lover and his family is objecting our marriage saying that it may end up in divorce or i can cause his death. Is there any shloka or prayers i can chant specifically to improve the situation or make us to get married. Sorry, Im not really sure if im posting right here.

thank you.
Old 9th May 2008, 01:35 AM
IL Hall Of Fame
Super Moderator

State: tamil nadu
Referrals: 29
Default Re: Shlokas

Dear Friend,
Please change your username - your quality of life will improve!
There is no specific shloka to get married to a particular person of your choice, against family pressures, as far as I know!

Originally Posted by miserablelife View Post
Hi Chithra madam,

i would like to request for a shlokam ..Im not sure if this is the one.the sholaka you have already posted which is " girl to get married ".

I have a problem with my horoscope matching with my lover and his family is objecting our marriage saying that it may end up in divorce or i can cause his death. Is there any shloka or prayers i can chant specifically to improve the situation or make us to get married. Sorry, Im not really sure if im posting right here.

thank you.
Old 10th May 2008, 02:51 AM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 26
Default Shyamala Dhantakam In English Fonts

hai friends i have prepared the shyamala dhantakam for you all in english font hope it would help people who are unable to read it is sanskrit or tamil....sunkan

Old 10th May 2008, 02:53 AM

City: bangalore
State: karnataka
Referrals: 26
Default Re: Shyamala Dhantakam In English Fonts

Old 10th May 2008, 01:52 PM

Smile Gayathri Slokas

Dear all,

Below are some of the gayathri mantras for different god and goddess. These slokas one can anytime when time permits. Thought it will be helpful to u all.If anybody can add further gayathri's pls do the needful so that it will be very useful to rest all..

Gayathri Mantras:

Aum bhur-bhuvah-swah tat savitur varenyam
bhargo devasya dheemahi dhiyo yo nah Prachodayat.
Ganesha:

Ekadantaya Vidmahe Vakratundaya Dheemahi Tanno Danti Prachodayat.
Lord Shiva Gayathtri
Om Tat Purushaya Vidhmahe
Mahadevaya Dheemahe
Tanno Rudra Prachodayaath

Guru Mantra:
Gurur Bramha Gurur Vishnu
Gurur Devo Maheswaraha
Guru Shakshath Para Bramha
Thasmaisri Gurave Namaha
Gurave Sarvalokanam
Bhishaje Bhavaroginam
Nithye Sarvadhiyanaam
Dhakshina Moorthaye Namahah!

Bairava Mantra:
Om Swanathvajaya Vidhmahe Soola Hasthaya Dheemahe
Tanno Bhairava Prachodayaath!

Durgai Mantra:
Om Kathyayanaya Vidhmahe
Kanya Kumari Dheemahe
Tanno Durgya Prachodayaath !

Murugan Mantra:
Om Dut Purushaya Vidhmahe
Maha Senaya Dheemahe
Tanno Shanmuga Prachodayaath!

Vishnu Mantra:
Om Narayanaya Vidhmahe
Vasudevaya Dheemahe
Tanno Vishnu Prachodayaath!

Rama Matra:
Om Daserathayae Vidhmahe
Sita Vallabhaya Dheemahe
Tanno Rama Prachodayaath !

Krishna Mantra:
Om Dhamodharayae Vidhmahe
Rukmani Vallabhaye Dheemahe
Tanno Krishna Prachodayaath !

Venkatesa Mantra:
Nirnajanayae Vidmahe
Nirapasayae Dheemahe
Tanno Srinivasa Prachodayaad!

Sudarsana Mantra:
Om Sudharshanaya Vidmahey
Maha Jwalaya Dheemahe
Tanno Chakra Prachodayaat !

Mahalakshmi Mantra:
Om Mahadevyaicha Vidhmahe
Vishnu Pathniyaicha Dheemahe
Tanno lakshmi Prachodayaath!

Saraswathi Mantra:
Om Vakdeviyaicha Vidhmahe
Virinji Pathniyaicha Dheemahe
Tanno vani Prachodayaath !

Dhan Vantri Mantra:
Om Namo Bhagavate
Maha Sudharshana
Vasudevaya Dhanvantaraye;
Amrutha Kalasa Hasthaaya
Sarva Bhaya Vinasaya
Sarva Roka Nivaranaya
Thri Lokya Pathaye
Thri Lokya Nithaye
Sri Maha Vishnu Swarupa

Keep Smiling..