Dental problems during Pregnancy ?

Discussion in 'Pregnancy & Labor' started by Haasini, Aug 16, 2007.

1. Haasini

Haasini New IL'ite

Hi IL,
    I'm 13 weeks pregnant. I have cavities and I'm not able to eat anything.
    One of doctor in India told me that dental problems are usually treated only during 3rd month to 6th month. Is it true ?
    I'm not able to tolerate the pain. I'm planning to take dental insurance. Do dentists treat during prgnancy ? Please share ur experiance....

Thanks.

2. vshetty

vshetty New IL'ite

hii..
    i am a dentist myself so i guess i can give u a professional reply !
    yes it is true that dental treatment is not rendered in the first and last trimesters of pregnancy. but if the cavity is hurting very badly then under extra precautions with consent from your gynaecologist treatment can be given... actually it all depends on your cavity depth and a few other factors..
    i hope that answers your question...

3. Haasini

Haasini New IL'ite

Thanks for your reply Shetty.
    My cavity is hurting very badly. Yesterday I spoke to doctor, he told me its better to go for treatment because sometimes any dental problems may lead to premature birth . Is it so ?

Thanks.

4. vshetty

vshetty New IL'ite

hi again.
    yes it is true. i think if u are in pain its better to go for treatment .... good luck. be sure to check with your gynaecologist.

5. titli

titli New IL'ite

tooth ache during pregnancy

hi all,
    i am in my 8th month now..nowadays i am having mild tooth ache..it will be there for sometime n will go later...
    has anybody suffered this problem? pls let me know what can i do for this..

n one more question? does stretch mark appear during pregnancy or post pregnancy?

thanks in advance
    titli

6. malarvp

malarvp New IL'ite

Re: tooth ache during pregnancy

Hi titli,