11 days Ganesh festival in Hyderabad

Discussion in 'Places & Events in Hyderabad' started by Senorita, Sep 4, 2008.

1. Senorita

Senorita Silver IL'ite

Om Maha Ganadhi Patha Ye Na Ma ha!!

Dear all Hyderabadi's,

Yesterday we all celebrated the birthday of the Colossus with the Proboscis, Lord Ganesh, aka Gajanana (Elephant-Faced Lord), aka Vignavinashanaya (Destroyer of All Obstacles and Impediments) and many other more names like this.

Ganesha is perhaps the most distinctive-looking deity of the Hindu pantheon. His birth was as unconventional as his profile.

While Lord Shiva was away at war, his wife Parvati sought to bathe herself, but feared someone might enter while she was vulnerable. To guard her door, she fashioned the model of a son out of clay or sandalwood paste, breathed life into him, and placed him outside with instructions not to let anyone in.
    It just so happened that Lord Shiva came back from the battlefront while Pavarti was bathing. Ganesh didn’t know who he was and prevented Shiva from entering. Shiva, after a hard day of battling demons, was not in the mood to be stopped in his own house. With his sword he sliced Ganesha’s head clean off. Needless to say, when Parvati came out of the bath to find her new son decapitated, she was P.O.’d! Parvati threatened to destroy the three worlds of Earth, Heaven and Hell. Now she may not have been the first wife in history to threaten so, but she was the first with the power to actually do it.

Like any good husband, Shiva instructed his men to go out and bring back the head of the first living creature they found. They came back with the head of an elephant, which Shiva placed atop Ganesha's decapitated body and with a sacred breath, made him whole.

Ganesha became the great Protector, and also the bringer of good fortune and prosperity.

:bowdown Ganesh Maharaj ki Jai bolo.. :bowdown

2. Senorita

Senorita Silver IL'ite

Now, as all of you know Vinayaka Chaturthi is celebrated very spiritually and hugely in Hyderabad. I really like the way poeple celebrate here apart from rest of the places in Andhra Pradesh.

They say after Mumbai, Hyderabad is in next place in celebrating this 11 day feast of Vinayaka Chaturthi. And one has to see Gansha idols at all places in Hyderabad city. It will be real treat to eyes and you can find Ganesha in every galli (i mean street) next to your place.

Asusual even this time Khairatabad Ganesha noted for its enormous size, which is usually more than 40 feet is also in news that this time its been made with eco friendly materials and colors. And the huge Khairatabad Ganesha will appear seated on a throne. Khairatabad Vinayaka Chavithi Ganesh idol was last seen in seated posture in 1982. So don't miss the chance of visiting Ganesha idol at Khairatabad.

Take a look at Khairatabad Ganesha last year

3. sujaram

sujaram Senior IL'ite

Hi Senorita,

I am very happy to hear the that this time also Khairatabad Ganesha is huge and different. If possible can u post the photo.

4. Senorita

Senorita Silver IL'ite

Let's all meet here and say your experiences and share your thoughts about Vinayaka Chaturthi celebrated in Hyderabad.

We have celebrated festival well by decorating Ganesha idol and offering him all his favorite ladoos, kudumulu, vundrallu, vada, payasam, pulihora and all types of fruits. Prayed with divine and slokas by patri, then listening Ganesha Katha and finally taking gunjallu :bowdown

Now, you can see massive security in Hyderabad at all places during these 11 days. And Hyderabad is also shinning with glittering as Holy month of Ramdan has started.

5. Senorita

Senorita Silver IL'ite

Hi Sujatha, thanks for stepping in yeah sure i will post.

But this time the famous Khairatabad idol will be sitting on his throne at long last. After a long gap, i think after 1982 again now khairatabad Ganesha is been seated in his throne.

Let's all pray our Vinayaka Swami for these 11 days in this thread to bless us all with good health and prosperity!!

Last edited: Sep 4, 2008
  6. Senorita

Senorita Silver IL'ite

Today 2nd day..

Today 2nd day and of these 11 day Ganesha festival

:bowdown Bolo Ganesh MahaRaj ki Jai :bowdown

7. sujaram

sujaram Senior IL'ite

Hi Senorita,

Is the photo you send to me is Khairatabad idol. The idol is very nice looking. You said it is 40 Feet height. I think will be very huge when u go there and see.

One more thing how to add friends to Friends List.

8. lathaa

lathaa Bronze IL'ite

Senorita,

Thougthful topic for our Ohhh Bojjaa ganapayyaa...Hyderabad it self is in glitter with Ganapathi Pandals on each and every corner of the colonies.As you have already mentioned Kairathabad Ganapathi is the tallest of all in Hyderabad,this time in vizag second tallest idol has been erected.

This is the time of Ramazan a holy month for our muslim freinds and with Ramazan,there is one more the famous HALEEM is available during this month which is relished by every person(all the comunities)who is a non vegetarian.

So Hyderabad is in festive mood with both the festivals happening at the same time period and at the same time people,police and the government are more careful with the security as we had our nightmare experiences of bomb blasts.

9. archu1981

archu1981 Silver IL'ite

hai sunitha,
    you started a good and nice thread.the ganesh is really good.when we were kids we used to collect chandas and put a big murthi in our colony.till today all boys in colony go to each house and collect chandas,and they put one big one in colony.and daily one or more families make prasadam and do pooja for 11 days.on 11th day we take in a truck to tankbund and nimajjanam is done.but that day all kids and youth will do dance and go till tankbund.it use to take 4 to 5 hrs for them strting at 7 in the evening till latenight 1 or 2 they enjoy.but it is full of fun and findly environment.i like this ganesh chathurdhi.
    ganapathi bappa oria
    adha laddu choriya.
    in balnagar they put auction to ganesh laddu.it will cost nearly Rs.13 lakhs.and some times even more also.
    in our colony last yr it was 2000/- Rs.only for 1kg laddu.

10. Senorita

Senorita Silver IL'ite

Today is 3rd day..

Om Namo Maha Ganadhi Pathye Namaha!!

May Lord Ganesha bless you all with good health and prosperity :bowdown