Getting a driving license in Dubai!

Discussion in 'Personal Services in Dubai' started by Sylviaram, Nov 17, 2007.

1. Sylviaram

Sylviaram Bronze IL'ite

Hey ILites in Dubai,

I moved to Dubai early this year and I have been struggling to get a driving licence. I have 8+ years driving experience in India but I am still going for my classes here. I registered with Emirates and they seem to be daylight robbers..

I am sure many of you would have gone thru' similar situations. Can we exchange our thoughts, ideas and experiences on the subject so that we know that we arent alone...

Cheers!
    Sylvia

2. maha

maha Senior IL'ite

Hi Sylvia,

Getting a DL in dubai is ofcourse tough, as it is a straight forward exam with no room for a jolly ride..Before a year, even after failing the test, the no. of classes u need to take and reg. again for the test were all quite flexible, but now, they r restricting too much to limit the alarming inc. in no. of drivers and road accidents..So failing in a test causes severe loss , financially and also time consuming as classes have to be taken again..But as far as i know, EDI is the best institute in Dubai...So Best of Luck !!!

3. Sylviaram

Sylviaram Bronze IL'ite

Hey maha,

you are right... DL is being such a pain lately. The cost per half hour class is 60dhs and if you fail once, you have to take 10 more classes before your next test. After I failed my first test I waited for about 3 months to get a instructor again. My husband completed his classes in Sept and is still waiting for his road test... We have spent more than 5000dhs already and I am not sure how much more we need to spend before we actually get our licence.

I need a lot of luck!

thanks
    Sylvia

4. balwinder

balwinder New IL'ite

I am new to this forum: From the USA and I have been studying Licensing Requirments in Dubai. You have rightly said, 'it's a day light robbery!! The sustem has been monopolized and only Indian suffer there!